Sports Memories for April 10

Published 1:16pm Saturday, April 9, 2011

By Chuck Anderson

50 years ago – 1961

Players named to the Middle Eight All-Conference Basketball Team were Ron Fiest, Ron Zielie and Dan Roberts of Wells, Dennis Hendrickson and Roger Jones of Truman, Bernie Manasager from Trimont, Gene Jurgenson from Sherburn, Jerry Larkin from Madelia, Dick Hanson of Lake Crystal and Jim Anderson of Mapleton.

Pitcher Myron Hoffman was named the manager for the Albert Lea Packers in the Southern Minnesota League for the 1961 season.

25 years ago – 1986

The Albert Lea girls’ track team participated in a quadrangular meet at Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter. Placing for Albert Lea was Jessica Scherff, second in the long jump and fourth in the 200-meter intermediate hurdles; Kris Warner, third in the 200-meter hurdles, Amy Stadheim third and Andrea Ayers sixth in the 3,200-meter run.

In opening softball games in the Border League, Alden-Conger defeated Wellcome 17-5 and Emmons topped Freeborn 15-2. Pam Dulas, Tana Dokken and Vicki Thomas each had three hits for A-C and Kim Gaard was the winning pitcher. Julie Honsey threw a two-hitter and had two hits for Emmons in their victory.

Freeborn outscored Emmons 12-7 in Border League baseball. Peter Schuster was the winning pitcher and also had four RBIs for Freeborn. Emmons was led by Ross Thompson with three hits and four RBIs.

10 years ago – 2001

The top 10 batters were the following: Lowell Doppelhammer (.742), Bob Newman (.703), Steve Guenther (.695), Dean Sorensen (.694), Darrel Soper – (.688), Jeremy Waters (.684), Chris Sorenson (.681), Corey Wittmer (.672), Rick Walther (.656) and John Light (.651).

The Albert Lea Eagles youth wrestling team repeated as champion at the Northwest Youth Wrestling Association State Tournament. Team members were Cody Hansen, Lucas Hansen, CoryHansen, Beau Hansen, Logan Hansen, Carter Kortan, Conner Kortan, Logan Kortan, Trey Hable, Eric Johnson, Jacob Cibert, Nick Flores, Zach McGinnis, Matt Morris and Alan Olson.

Named to the Big Nine All-Conference Swimming and Diving Team from Albert Lea were Ben Lindeman, Mitch Johnson, Mark Hickman andd Ryan Lowe.

Chuck Anderson’s “Sports Memories” appears every Sunday in the Tribune.