Sports Memories for July 24

Published 6:28am Sunday, July 24, 2011

By Chuck Anderson

50 years ago — 1961

The Cabin Bar defeated Rilco 9-0 to win the regular season title in the Albert Lea City Softball League. Al Brooks doubled and hit a home run, and Kenny Heine pitched the win for the Cabin Bar.

The Albert Lea VFW baseball team defeated St. Charles 14-7 with John Hegland picking up the win.

Ty Cobb, of the Detroit Tigers, died on Monday, July 17, 1961. He started his baseball career at age 17 and played for 24 years. His major league career batting average was .367 and he led the American League 12 times. His highest average was .420 in 1911. He had 4,191 hits and stole 892 bases.

25 years ago — 1986

The Geneva 15-and-under junior fastpitch softball team won the Minnesota state tournament and would play in the national 15-and-under junior fastpitch tournament. Team members were Brian Brekke, Matt Kath, Brett Richards, Shawn Hearn, Mike Kath, Travis Jensen, Brent Wiersma, Todd Paterson, Troy Johnson, Jimmy Johnson, Gregg Nelson, Mark Misgen, David West and Merlin Kath. Bill Johnson was the manager and coach Eldon “Mudcat” Kath.

Winners in the Albert Lea city tennis tournament were the following: Bruce Westrum, men’s A singles; Scott Peterson, men’s B singles; Jenny Volkenant, women’s singles; Westrum and Jerry Bibus, men’s doubles.

10 years ago — 2001

Emily Bartusek, of Albert Lea, qualified for the Junior Olympics National Track and Field meet in three events at the region meet. She placed first in the 400-meter run, second in the 200-meter run and third in the triple jump at the region.

Minnesota native Joe Mauer, the top pick in June’s amateur baseball draft, signed with the Minnesota Twins for $5 million.

The Albert Lea Elks U-15 soccer team defeated Apple Valley 4-2 to finish the regular season with a record of 10-1-1. Team members were Jeremy Jacobson, Brett Plantage, Tyler Wiese, Steve Thorn, Andrew Stapleton, Joe Squires, Logan Schallock, Brady Plantage, Justin McGinnis, Jacob Levison, Ross Haben, Jacob Clark, Brian Christianson, Dustin Boyer, Kurtis Bohrnstedt and Ethan Berg.

Chuck Anderson’s column appears each Sunday in the Tribune.