Archived Story

Mayoral recount today

Published 9:24am Friday, August 17, 2012

The recount in the Albert Lea mayoral race will be today at 1 p.m. in the Freeborn Room of the Freeborn County Courthouse.

The recount was called after the second- and third-place candidates in the race ended the Tuesday primary election with only four votes separating the two.

According to Tuesday results, incumbent Mayor Vern Rasmussen received 850 votes, former Freeborn County Commissioner Keith Porter Sr. received 305 votes and former Albert Lea City Councilor John Severtson received 301.

Severtson requested the recount.