The Albert Lea junior wrestlers won the Mankato East Tournament. Front row from left: Brody Nielsen, Zach Glazier, Jacob Johnsrud, Noah Nelson, Ty Harms, Joseph Peterson and Jesse Hernandez. Middle row from left: Derek Mauricio, Gavin Ignaszewski, Trent Johnston, Alex Bledsoe, Hunter Lowman and Brady Nielsen. Back row from left: Brent Hanson, Riet Lony, Matthew Palmer, Tanner Palmer and Blake Simon. -- Submitted

A.L. junior wrestlers win Mankato East tournament

Published 2:04pm Saturday, January 12, 2013

On Jan. 5, the Albert Lea Junior High Wrestling Team competed in the Mankato East eight-team dual tournament. The Tigers won the championship by defeating Mankato West 65-9, Hutchinson 36-30, Owatonna 40-30, and Waterville-Elysian-Morristown/Janesville-Waldorf-Pemberton 40-30 in the championship. The young Tigers have won every team tournament so far this season.