Alexander

Vikings start season on road

Published 9:57am Thursday, April 24, 2014

MINNEAPOLIS — The Minnesota Vikings have only one scheduled prime-time game this season, a Thursday matchup at rival Green Bay Oct. 2.

All 16 opponents for 2014 were previously determined by the NFL’s formula, but the league unveiled the specific dates and times Wednesday night.

The Vikings will formally kick off their two-year stay at the University of Minnesota by hosting New England Sept. 14. For the fifth time in six seasons, the Vikings will start on the road, at St. Louis Sept. 7. They’ll wrap up the schedule against Chicago at TCF Bank Stadium Dec. 28, roughly four years after the two teams were forced to play there following the collapse of the Metrodome.

Four of the last six games are at home, raising the possibility of wintry weather.

 

Week 1: Sunday, Sept. 7 at St. Louis Rams (noon)

Week 2: Sunday, Sept. 14 vs. New England Patriots (noon)

Week 3: Sunday, Sept. 21 at New Orleans Saints (noon)

Week 4: Sunday, Sept. 28 vs. Atlanta Falcons (3:25 p.m.)

Week 5: Thursday, Oct. 2 at Green Bay Packers (7:25 p.m.)

Week 6: Sunday, Oct. 12 vs. Detroit Lions (noon)

Week 7: Sunday, Oct. 19 at Buffalo Bills (noon)

Week 8: Sunday, Oct. 26 atTampa Bay Buccaneers (noon)

Week 9: Sunday, Nov. 2 vs. Washington Redskins (noon)

Week 10: Bye

Week 11: Sunday, Nov. 16 at Chicago Bears (noon)

Week 12: Sunday, Nov. 23 vs. Green Bay Packers (noon)

Week 13: Sunday, Nov. 30 vs. Carolina Panthers (noon)

Week 14: Sunday, Dec. 7 vs. New York Jets (noon)

Week 15: Sunday, Dec. 14 at Detroit Lions (noon)

Week 16: Sunday, Dec. 21 at Miami Dolphins (noon)

Week 17: Sunday, Dec. 28 vs. Chicago Bears (noon)