Towns feature dozens of mayor, council hopefuls

Published 12:00 am Friday, October 4, 2002

This November promises heavily contested city elections in some places &045; and some city elections with no contests at all.

In Clarks Grove, incumbent Bruce Hansen and challenger Tom Jensen, a current city councilman, are the two candidates for mayor. Dick Nelson, Scott Juveland and incumbent Bill May are all running for two open seats on the city council.

In Glenville, there is a two-contestant race for mayor with incumbent Wes Webb and newcomer Joe Shaunce. For city council there are two seats open; Ron Rasmusson is seeking reelection and Keith Weiss is a newcomer.

Email newsletter signup

Wells has a contested race for mayor with two newcomers, David Jacobson and Mark Garver, battling for the job. Mayor John Herman isn’t seeking another term. There is also a race between four candidates for two city council seats.

In Alden, mayor Richard Borge is the only candidate on the ballot for that position. As for city council, incumbents Betsy Schultz and Scott Bute are the only candidates for their two seats.

New Richland will have change as current mayor Richard Baker is stepping down. Wayne Billing and Steve Templin will run against each other for the position. The city council has three candidates &045; incumbents Guy LeBlanc and Jay Johnson, along with newcomer Christine Gislason.

Emmons will have incumbent Paul Henchel as the only candidate for mayor. Three candidates will vie for two city council seats: Mark Heggestad, Joe Lair and Maynard Erickson.

Geneva has no mayoral race this year, but the city council will have two newcomers: James Beenken and Dennis O’Neil, who are running for the seats of DeWayne Jensen and Douglas Smith, neither of whom filed for reelection.

In Conger, the mayoral race will be between incumbent Rick Miller and city council member Carla Lindeman. For the two seats open on the city council, newcomer Gary Richter and incumbent Arlen Ditlevson are the only two candidates.

In Hartland there is a problem. No one filed for mayor and only Ray Mielke has filed for city council, for which there are two seats open. Write-ins will decide both races.

Ellendale mayor Scott Groth will go uncontested as the incumbent for the election, while Ric Aaseth is the only incumbent who is running again for city council. Aaseth, along with Doug Flugum and Mark Misgen, will be vying for the two seats open on the council.

Bricelyn mayor Brian Rike is stepping down and Dan Klingbel is the only candidate for his spot. For city council there are two seats open, while incumbent Tom Sens has refiled, Dan Ehlert is stepping down. David Wertjes and Bob Carroll are both vying for the two seats as well. There is also a two-year seat open, Pat Rike and Earl Beckmann have filed for that position.

In Hayward Willis Pfeiffer’s re-election bid for mayor is uncontested. Carol Becker is seeking reelection for one of two open seats on the city council; Kimberly Nelson is on the ballot for the other seat.

Hollandale candidates are all incumbents seeking reelection. Mayor Ted Radke and city councilors Richard Veldman and Robert Asper are all looking to stay on in their positions.

Freeborn will have little change unless a surprise write-in campaign makes a difference. Incumbent mayor Dale Johannsen and incumbent councilors Bill Guggisberg and DeAnn Goette will have no opponents for their seats.

Two candidates are running for mayor in Manchester: Newcomer Julie K. Hanson-Haukoos and Incumbent Bruce Vaith. For city council, two are running for two seats; Rueben Foth and Adrian Jensen are both incumbents seeking reelection.

In Myrtle all contests will be decided by write-ins.

Twin Lakes will keep the same people in office unless a write-in candidate surprises. Mayor Debra L. Miller and city councilors Sandy Sletten and Pat Neilon all are seeking reelection.

Kiester has off years for both city council and mayor, as do Iowa towns Northwood and Lake Mills.