Three Tigers earn Big Nine honors

Published 12:00 am Friday, May 26, 2006

Three Albert Lea seniors were named to the Big Nine All-Conference team for the 2006 season.

Arik Matson, Nick Bunz and Ben Berhow each earned all-conference recognition while senior Josh Jordahl was an honorable mention selection.

Matson began his year with a game-winning home run and didn’t slow down at the plate or at third base for the Tigers.

Bunz made an immediate impact on the mound pitching two consecutive two-hitters to start the season and the transfer helped add some pop to the Tiger lineup.

Berhow was strong behind the plate as the team’s catcher, but even more imposing when he had the bat in his hand as he made mammoth home runs the norm.

Jordahl helped give Albert Lea’s pitching staff a solid top of the rotation and also played well in the field which was a constant for the club.

Rochester Mayo’s Aaron Senne was named the Dick Seltz Player of the Year while Terry &8220;Dutch&8221; Heiderscheit of Rochester John Marshall was named the Coach of the Year.

2006 Big Nine Conference

Austin &045; Tim Kirby, Dan Wiechmann, Duell Higby

Albert Lea &045;&160;Arik Matson, Nick Bunz, Ben Berhow

Faribault &045;&160;Jacob Petricka, Nate Rost

Mankato East &045;&160;Daniel Hager, Derek Hager

Mankato West &045; Chase Brown

Owatonna &045;&160;Derek Eddie, Anthony Kramer, Josh Smith

Rochester Century &045;&160;Bryan Denisen, James Sandifer, Mike Debolt, Leion Clark

Rochester John Marshall &045;&160;John Magee, Nate Dunfee, Tim Oesterlin, Erik Knutson

Rochester Mayo &045;&160;Aaron Senne, Tyler Rank, Tim Coleman, Brett Ferschweiler

Winona &045;&160;Mike Bestul

Honorable Mention

Albert Lea &045;&160;Josh Jordahl