Golfers win awards

Published 4:48 pm Saturday, June 14, 2008

The Albert Lea High School boys golf team held its banquet June 9 at Green Lea Golf Course.

The team’s Most Valuable Player was junior Grant Stadheim. The Most Consistent award went to sophomore Tyler Brackey. The Most Persistent award went to sophomore Tyler Haaland and the Most Improved Player was junior Robert Peterson.

Captains for the 2008-09 season will be Grant Stadheim and Mike Falk.

Email newsletter signup

Their final record was 31-25, including a 10-8 record in Big Nine conference play. The highlight of the season came at the Big Nine Conference tournament where the Tigers finished second out of 10 teams.

Also included among the team highlights was being named the Class AAA Academic champions.

Also, Tyler Brackey earned Big Nine all-conference honors.