School board selects 6 finalists for super

Published 9:19 am Monday, February 2, 2009

Six finalists have been selected for the job of superintendent of Albert Lea Area Schools, the school board announced this morning.

The application deadline was Jan. 16. The finalists are:

Cathy Bettino, superintendent, Pine River-Backus School District.

Email newsletter signup

John Chalstrom, superintendent, Cherokee (Iowa) Community School District.

Mary Smidt, superintendent, Clinton-Graceville-Beardsley School District.

Michael Funk, superintendent, Bird Island, Olivia, Lake Lillian School District, often dubbed BOLD.

Joe Brown, superintendent, Grand Meadow Independent School District.

 Jamie Skjeveland, superintendent, Crosby-Ironton School District.

The school board reviewed the files of applicants Wednesday and received a list of recommended candidates from BKB Associates, a Mankato firm assisting the board in the search. The finalists were chosen based on a profile of qualifications the board and other stakeholders outlined in interviews last fall and based on BKB’s recommendations.

Albert Lea’s superintendent since 1995, Dave Prescott, in October announced he will retire June 30.

School board members will conduct interviews with finalists Wednesday and Thursday at Brookside Education Center. The interviews are open to the public. The Tribune will print a schedule Tuesday.

About Tim Engstrom

Tim Engstrom is the editor of the Albert Lea Tribune. He resides in Albert Lea with his wife, two sons and dog.

email author More by Tim