Albert Lea wrestlers continue winning at home

Published 2:14 pm Saturday, January 23, 2010

The Albert Lea wrestling inched closer to the .500 mark following Friday’s 52-21 victory over Faribault at Albert Lea High School.

The sixth-ranked Tigers served up another home victory and second of the week in dominating fashion as they won eight consecutive matches and recorded five falls during that stretch.

It’s just the type of momentum Albert Lea (9-10) needs heading into a big tournament in Champlin Park Saturday.

Email newsletter signup

“After coming out of the Clash and St. Cloud Tech, we needed to get wins and now we have two wins in a row,” said Tigers head coach Larry Goodnature. “And we’re going up to Champlin Park on Saturday with some teams that aren’t ranked and hopefully get some wins in the win column and keep going.”

Albert Lea’s Trey Hable, Dalton Westerlund, Cory Hansen, Carter Kortan and Mitch Webb all recorded pins on the night, while Garrett Wangsness barely missed a technical fall in the opening match at 103 pounds.

Wangsness gave the Tigers a 4-0 lead from the start with a 20-6 major decision victory over Trevor Morris, but Albert Lea dropped the next two matches and trailed 9-4 before reeling off eight consecutive victories beginning with Hable’s fall against Luke Selly at 125.

After Mitch Webb pinned Kevin Palacios at 171 Albert Lea built a 46-9 advantage.

During that run Albert Lea’s Connor Kortan knocked off one of Faribault’s ranked wrestlers.

Kortan picked up a 4-2 victory over a ranked opponent when he defeated Nick Knott at 160 pounds to keep the momentum rolling for the Tigers.

The Falcons came back to take two of the final three weights to make it 52-21.

Albert Lea 52, Faribault 21

103— Garrett Wangsness (AL) maj. dec. Trevor Morris 20-6; 112— Brandon Peters (F) dec, Lucas Hansen 6-2; 119— Marcus Riggle (FA) fall Devin Nelson 0:48; 125— Trey Hable (AL) fall Luke Selly 0:48; 130— Dalton Westerlund (AL) fall Josh Palmer 1:47; 135— Cory Hansen (AL) fall James Dennis 4:24; 140— Trevor Rasmussen (AL) won by forfeit; 145— Caleb Kolodge (AL) dec. Dalton Chemlik 12-6; 152— Carter Kortan (AL) fall Cole McAdam 2:27; 160— Connor Kortan (AL) dec. Nick Knott 4-2; 171— Mitch Webb (AL) fall Kevin Palacios 1:22; 189— Mat Becker (FA) fall Caleb Gaudian 5:33; 215— Alex Nielsen (AL) won by forfeit; 285— Cole Wilson (FA) fall Christian Andersen 3:27.