Owatonna routs Thunder

Published 12:53 am Wednesday, February 3, 2010

Owatonna pummeled the Albert Lea Thunder 8-2 Tuesday at Four Seasons Centre in Owatonna.

The Express (23-15-4) used a four-goal second period and three power-play goals to rout the Thunder (10-26-5) and snap a two-game skid.

Albert Lea committed 13 penalties and Owatonna went on the power play 11 times.

Email newsletter signup

Dylan Porter scored two goals and assisted on two others for Owatonna while seven other players had multiple points. Zach Vierling and Cory Thorson had a goal and two assists and John Haeg had three assists.

The Express outshot Albert Lea 45-25 and took a 2-0 lead after the first period.

The Thunder fell behind 4-0 before Brandon Lubin scored a shorthanded goal in the second period and Luke Jenkins added a third period goal.

Albert Lea plays Alexandria Friday at City Arena. All youth hockey players who wear their jersey will receive free admission and their parents will get in for $5 as part of the Albert Lea Hockey Day, which begins Saturday at City Arena.

Owatonna 8, Albert Lea 2

Albert Lea 0 1 1 — 2

Owatonna 2 4 2 — 8

First Period—1, Owatonna, Marian Fiala (Dylan Porter, John Haeg), 2:04. 2, Owatonna, Brian McGinty (Tim Smith, Jacob Sloat), 12:23 (pp.). Penalties—Brandon Lubin, Alb (tripping), 3:25; Matt Johnson, Alb (hooking), 6:33; Bryan Mitchell, Alb (hooking), 12:11; Sloat, Owa (tripping), 12:31; Patrick Kinkopf (tripping), 16:41.

Second Period—3, Owatonna, Cory Thorson (Nick Widing, Jake Suter), 0:25. 4, Owatonna, Dan Cecka (Suter, Thorson), 3:23 (pp.). 5, Albert Lea, Lubin (Alex Niestrom, Stephen Obarzanek), 5:07 (sh.). 6, Owatonna, Porter (Haeg, Zach Vierling), 7:55. 7, Owatonna, Widing (Thorson, Sloat), 9:38. Penalties—Obarzanek, Alb (holding), 1:29; Mitchell, Alb (hooking), 4:02; Zac Headrick, Alb (unsportsmanlike conduct), 5:07; Headrick, Alb (unsportsmanlike conduct game ejection), 5:07; Headrick, Alb (bench/coach game misconduct), 5:07; Brad Phenow, Alb (high sticking), 9:16; Joe Kozlak, Alb (boarding), 15:38; Matt Hemmingway, Alb (unsportsmanlike conduct), 15:38; Anthony Iaquinto, Alb (checking from behind), 16:20; Schyler Adams, Owa (elbowing), 18:41.

Third Period—8, Albert Lea, Luke Jenkins (Zach May, Obarzanek), 6:56. 9, Owatonna, Vierling (Porter, Fiala), 10:53. 10, Owatonna, Porter (Haeg, Vierling), 16:03. Penalties—Alex Niestrom, Alb (interference), 1:33; Chris Bournazos, Owa (checking from behind), 4:38; Phenow, Alb (interference), 11:01; Tim Smith, Owa (interference), 16:30.

Shots on Goal—Albert Lea 9-4-12—25. Owatonna 15-18-12—45.

Power-play opportunities—Albert Lea 0 of 4; Owatonna 3 of 11.

Goalies—Albert Lea, Joe Rogers 8-14-2 (27 shots-21 saves); Nikifor Szczerba (18-16). Owatonna, Matt Hemmingway 5-4-1 (25-23).

A—293. T—2:14.

Referee—Geoff Miller. Linesmen—Johnathan Morrison, Brett Martin.