A thank you to all who helped the historical society

Published 9:10 am Saturday, January 8, 2011

Column: Pat Mulso, Preserving the Past

Another whole year has come and gone! What has happened or changed in your world? Have you set new goals or completed a project? Has anyone had a baby in your family or has someone passed away? These are all things that we may reflect on as we enter a new year.

Pat Mulso

During 2010 the museum staff and volunteers tried new ventures, such as our Boy Scout 100th Anniversary special open house, Night at the Museum and Christmas Village Stroll. We had a joint venture project with the Albert Lea Public Library called “See It Now…Freeborn County Memories” that went very well and captured memories from the past, which will be a treasure for generations to come. This project was funded by a Library Legacy Grant. We received grants that provided funds to purchase microfilmed newspapers, replace siding on the red exhibit building and continue programs such as Discover History Day, day camps and school tours. We partnered with the Freeborn County Genealogical Society and hosted a two-day genealogical workshop that was also funded in part by a Library Legacy Grant. Other grants provided funding to purchase an additional microfilm file cabinet, to do advertising outside of Freeborn County and to purchase a color copier/fax/printer/scanner. Other grants were for general operating and all are appreciated!

Grants received in 2010 were: Albert Lea Convention and Visitors Bureau grant, Albert Lea Medical Center grant, Albert Lea Chapter of Thrivent Financial Helping Hands Grant, Alliant Energy Foundation matching grant, Arts & Cultural Heritage Library Legacy Fund Grants (two of these were received), Arts & Cultural Heritage/ Minnesota Historical and Cultural Grant, Chuck & Lorna Kenis Foundation grant, Freeborn County Chapter of Thrivent Financial Supplemental Funds Grant, Freeborn County Historical Society Foundation grant, Freeborn Mower Co-Op Services/Operation Round Up, Kenneth W. Olson Foundation Grant, Walmart Foundation Community Grant, and Worth County Development Authority Grant.

We would also like to say thank you to all our members who supported us with memberships and donations as well as their time and talents as volunteers. I also want to say a special thank you to my 2010 Board of Directors who really stepped up and did an excellent job of helping wherever they were needed during 2010. They worked many fundraisers and events as well as serving on multiple committees and taking on the job of the lawn care at the museum. Thank you so much!

The 2010 FCHS board members are Paul Anderson, Robert Bailey, Jody Bowron, Terry Cochran, Todd Domke, Jennifer Erickson, Keith Fligge, Phil Hintermeister, Larry Hopkey, Sonja Johnson, Jennifer Levisen, Kathy Muilenburg, Dick Nelson and Bruce Olson. We have two retiring members, Terry Cochran and Kathy Muilenburg, thank you both for your many years of service to the museum. (We are going to keep them involved in other committee assignments.)

We also want to say thank you to the members of the FCHS Building Expansion Committee who have been busy working to prepare for a busy year of fundraising efforts in 2011. They are: Terry Cochran, Todd Domke, Keith Fligge, Stan Johnson, Jennifer Levisen, Roger Lonning, Bruce Olson and Pat Mulso.

We are looking forward to a great 2011 and appreciate the support of our members, community, organizations and businesses.

FCHM memberships are now due, thank you to the more than 300 members who have already paid! Please remit your memberships by the end of the month to continue receiving our quarterly newsletter. Happy new year to all!

Pat Mulso is the executive director of the Freeborn County Historical Museum in Albert Lea.