21 Tigersharks are heading to state

Published 12:21 pm Saturday, February 5, 2011

State-bound members of the 2010-11 Albert Lea Tigersharks are, from left, front row: Claire Nelson, Lindsey Horejsi, Aaron Zogg, Haley Simon, Louis Wagner, Isaac Moyer and Carter Simon. Back row: Phillip Wagner, Esteban Johnson, Annika Jensen, Andrew Field, Carly Nelson, Chelsey Battle, Lexi Simon, Derek Wagner and Anna Andersen. Not pictured are Bailey Sandon, Samantha Nielsen, Sara Rasmussen, Emily Wangen and Travis Nemec. -- Submitted

The Albert Lea Family Y Tigersharks swim team competed in the 2011 sections swim meet Jan. 29 at the Minnesota State Univeristy Mankato pool.

They competed against four other teams from the area in hopes of sending their best swimmers on the the state meet on Feb. 13 at the University of Minnesota aquatic center in Minneapolis.

They did well with a total of 21 swimmers, of 32 total on the team competing in 39 individual events and eight relays, all of which are seeded in the top eight.