Under-13 soccer boys win state title

Published 12:37 pm Saturday, July 30, 2011

The Albert Lea U-13 Boys Soccer team: Front row (from left): Spencer Pannkuk, Lukas Severson, Anthony Huerta-Apanco, Schafer Overgaard, Alexis Campos and Emmitt Stevens. Second row: Alejandro Garcia, Cory Siefken, Jiro Andrade-De Leon, Foster Otten, Tyler Doran, Ehrich Attig and Rodrigo Solis. Back row: Coach Stacey Overgaard, Matt Tate, Christopher Nelson, Nate Nelson, Porfirio Torres and Colton Mowers.

The Albert Lea U-13 boys soccer team won the state championship in Lakeville July 27. The team defeated River Falls 3-0 to win the Minnesota Youth Soccer Association Summer State Tournament Classic 3 division.

Lukas Severson battles for the ball while Colton Mowers looks on.

“The entire team played exceptionally, scoring 13 goals over the three-game tournament, while allowing zero goals,” said coach Stacey Overgaard.

Goalkeeper Foster Otten continued an outstanding record with three shutouts in the state tournament. The team gave up only seven goals the entire season, while the offense scored 51.

Email newsletter signup

The tournament began with Albert Lea facing Valley United. Forwards Tyler Doran and Ehrich Attig pressed the ball well, wearing down their opponents and creating opportunities for their teammates to score. Albert Lea won 5-0 with goals scored by Jiro Andrade-De Leon, Alejandro Garcia and Cory Siefken.

Anthony Huerta-Apanco clears the ball from Albert Lea’s defensive zone.

The team then played their best game of the season against Owatonna.

Going into the game, Owatonna was the only team out of all 41 Classic 3 teams that had scored more goals than Albert Lea, according to the Minnesota Youth Soccer Association website.

Tony Huerta-Apanco, Porfirio Garcia, Schafer Overgaard, Rodrigo Solis, and Jiro Andrade-De Leon all scored for Albert Lea. Midfielders Alexis Campos, Lukas Severson, Emmitt Stevens and Spencer Pannkuk controlled the game by winning the ball from their opponents and setting up scoring opportunities. Albert Lea shut out Owatonna 5-0.

River Falls’ tough offense could not get through Albert Lea’s superior defense in the championship game. Defenders Matt Tate, Chris Nelson, Nate Nelson and Colton Mowers rarely allowed their opponents a quality shot on goal. Andrade-De Leon and Overgaard scored for Albert Lea. When it was time to award the medals, Albert Lea had won the championship 3-0.

Tyler Doran winds up, supported by fellow forward Porfirio Torres.

The state championship follows a regular season record of 11-1-1. Albert Lea captured the Southwest League Championship to advance to state. Overgaard and John Doran coached the team.

“We are so proud of the heart these boys showed all season,” said Overgaard. “They are a great group of kids who play well together both on and off the field. It was a pleasure coaching them this year.”