Sports Memories

Published 3:23 pm Monday, March 25, 2013

By Chuck Anderson

50 years ago – 1963

Email newsletter signup

• Named to the Big Nine Conference Basketball Team was guard John Goodnamson from Albert Lea High School, guard Dave Hartman and center Bruce Miller from Austin, forward Newt Trandemo from Red Wing and forward Wulf Krause from Winona. Goodmanson of Albert Lea was the Big Nine Conference scoring leader.

• WCCO Radio named Wells High School basketball coach Lloyd Stussy as High School Coach of the Year.

• Albert Lea graduate Lewis Kennedy wrestling for the Minnesota Gophers won two matches in the opening round of the NCAA Wrestling Tournament. Kennedy defeated Bob Haney of Penn State in the quarterfinals and then was defeated by Robert Doublas of West Liberty. Kennedy finished in 4th place at 130 pounds.

• The Wells High School basketball team lost its first game at the Minnesota State Basketball Tournament to Sauk Centre 64-58. Wells was led by Tom Schultz with 18 points and Al Redman with 17.


25 years ago – 1988

• Named to the All-Big Nine Conference Hockey Team from Albert Lea was goalie Brad Tullberg, forwards Steve Nelson, Mats Fingahl and David Nystrom.

• Albert Lea advanced  to the semifinal round of district basketball after defeating Rochester Mayo 60-51. The Tigers were led by Steve Bangh with 16 points and Matt Sullivan with 12. The Tigers were eliminated by Owatonna 59-36 in the semi-final round.

• Albert Lea senior Julie Coughlin won the Big Nine Conference scoring title with 305 points and a 19.1 points per game average.

• Named to the All-Gopher Conference Boys Basketball Team was Troy Janka from Ellendale-Geneva, Mike Heideman from Glenville-Emmons, and Mike Roesler and Ryan Rugruden from New Richland-Hartland.


10 years ago – 2003

• Named to the 2002-03 All-Big Nine Conference Boys Basketball Team from Albert Lea was Ben Woodside. Receiving honorable mention was Tyler Young.

• Named as the Albert Lea Tribune All-Area Girls Basketball Coach of the Year was United South Central’s coach Dale Koestler. Named as the Player of the Year was Andrea Eilertson of United South Central. Named to the All-Area First Team were Eilertson of USC, Alison Anderson from New Richland-Hartland-Ellendale-Geneva, Nicole Krueger from Alden-Conger, Danielle Rankin from Albert Lea and Alisa Rayman from Glenville-Emmons.