Sports Memories: Feb. 28

Published 9:00 am Sunday, February 28, 2016

50 years ago: 1966

• The Albert Lea High School wrestling team won its ninth straight District 2 title with 133 points to outdistance Austin and Ellendale with 71 points each. First place finishes for the Tigers were Mark Allen at 103 pounds, Bob Hatch at 120, Dean Hoeve at 133, Ken Stencel at 138, Bob Severson at 154 and Chuck Jean at 165. The Tigers also won the region title with 61 points to second place Owatonna with 54 points and third place Rochester with 50 points.

• The Emmons High School basketball team improved to 12-2 in the Border League after defeating Bricelyn 84-63. Ted Yost scored 29 points for the Eagles and Warren Peterson led Bricelyn with 20 points.

Email newsletter signup

• Glenville defeated the Lyle basketball team 79-60 behind 28 points by Danny Rodgers and 14 by Tom Belshan.


25 years ago: 1991

• In the opening round of Region 1AA, the ALHS girls’ basketball team defeated Eagen 61-34. Albert Lea was led by Carla Zevenbergen with 17 points and Pam Stoltz and Lori Coughlin with 11 points each.

• Advancing to the Minnesota state wrestling tournament from ALHS were Region 1AA champions Dave Mendenhall and Brian Palmer, and second-place finishers Travis Wasmoen, Albert Savala, Max Bjerke and Scott Johnston.

• In the opening round of District 2A, Glenville-Emmons defeated NRHEG 69-43. Kelly Peterson scored 18 points and Darci Escherich 17.


10 years ago: 2006

• The G-E boys’ basketball team won its 19th game of the season 71-47 over Grand Meadow. The Wolverines were led by Luke Klingson with 15 points and Devin Yost with 13.

• In the section quarterfinal round the ALHS boys’ hockey team defeated Windom 5-1. Scoring goals for the Tigers were Adam Royce  with two, and Alex Stadheim, Mark Walton and Lucas Hansen with one each.

• Advancing to the Minnesota state Individual wrestling tournament from ALHS were Cody Hansen, Logan Kortan, Eric Johnson, Beau Hansen, Zach McGinnis, Matt Morris, Taylor Ignaszewski, Mike Honeycott and Ben Berhow.