Meet the Athlete: Autumn Muilenburg

Published 9:43 am Thursday, November 3, 2016

Q: What grade are you in?

A: I am in 11th grade.

Q: What town do you live in, and which school do you attend?

A: I live right outside of Albert Lea and I am home-schooled, but do PSEO full time through Riverland.

Q: Who is your immediate family?

A: My parents are Mark and Holly Muilenburg; and I have four younger siblings: Hunter, 13; Hope, 4; and Parker and Cooper, 2.

Q: Which sports do you play?

A: I run cross country and track.

Q: What is your favorite part of running cross country?

A: My favorite part of cross country is getting to hang out with the team and coaches every day at practice. We always have a great time together.

Q: What has cross country taught you?

A: Cross country has taught me that personal victories are more important than a medal or a trophy. Accomplishing personal goals will never collect dust like a trophy would.

Q: What’s your favorite sports memory?

A: My favorite sports memory is all the funny things the coaches do during practice and at meets. They make everyone laugh daily.

Q: How did you get started in cross country?

A: I moved to Albert Lea at the end of eighth grade and Mr. Haney was my advisory teacher. My parents knew him previously, so when they dropped me off they told him I loved running. I have been in cross country ever since then.

Q: What sports did your family members play?

A: My mom was in dance and sprinted in track. My dad did a year of football when he was younger. So, they have no idea where my love for running came from.

Q: What are your sports-related achievements?

A: Getting to state in cross country is the biggest sports achievement I have — although I did accomplish my goals in track, including being able to run the mile race in less than 5 minutes and 45 seconds.

Q: What are your sports-related goals?

A: For the coming seasons, I hope to run the mile in 5 minutes, 30 seconds and bring my cross country time under 19 minutes.

Q: Who is your favorite professional athlete? Why?

A: I don’t have a favorite professional athlete. My family doesn’t watch much for pro sports.

Q: What are your college plans? Major?

A: I’m not sure where I want to go to college yet, but I would like to stay within a few hours of home. I would like to major in early childhood education.

Q: What is your favorite school subject?

A: My favorite subject in school is English and creative writing.

Q: Who is your favorite teacher?

A: I don’t have a favorite teacher since I am home-schooled, but I do enjoy hanging out with Mrs. Wayne, Ms. Sower and Mr. Haney at practice.

Q: What are your hobbies?

A: My hobbies include hanging out with my siblings, reading, writing, running, helping out at church and hanging out with friends.

Q: What is your dream job?

A: My dream job would be a preschool teacher or in preschool ministry.

Q: What is your favorite TV show?

A: My favorite TV shows are “Psych,” “Doctor Who” and “Supernatural.”

Q: What is an interesting fact about you?

A: I worked at a horse farm throughout middle school, helping train ponies.