White House: Minnesota to get disaster assistance after June, July storms

Published 9:49 pm Thursday, September 6, 2018

By Peter Cox, Minnesota Public Radio News


President Donald Trump has declared 27 Minnesota counties and three tribal areas damaged by summer storms eligible for federal disaster aid.

The funding announced Wednesday may reimburse at least 75 percent of the costs to repair public infrastructure, like roads and water systems.

According to the White House, the federal assistance is available for areas affected by severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding between June 15 and July 11.

The counties and tribal lands most affected are in southeast, northeast and northwest Minnesota.

Gov. Mark Dayton said the state will deliver aid for the 25 percent non-federal share. That money comes from an emergency contingency fund set up by the Legislature and the governor in 2014.

Aitkin, Beltrami, Blue Earth, Brown, Carlton, Cass, Clearwater, Cottonwood, Faribault, Itasca, Jackson, Koochiching, Lake, Lyon, Martin, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Pine, Pipestone, Polk, Redwood, Renville, Rock, St. Louis, Sibley and Watonwan counties are covered under the declaration, as well as the Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe, Red Lake Nation and White Earth Nation.

The White House announcement noted the state may make additional requests later.