Worth County included in Iowa disaster declaration

Published 10:05 pm Monday, September 24, 2018

Iowa Gov. Kim Reynolds declared Worth County a disaster area Friday after storms and flooding last week. 

The proclamation allows state resources to be used to respond to and recover from the storm. It activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program for qualifying residents in affected counties, which includes grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty maximum level, or a maximum annual $41,560 income for a family of three, according to the Worth County Sheriff’s Office.

The Disaster Care Management Program is also available, which aims to address human service needs following a disaster through partner integration, building provider capacity and developing state-level programs.

The grants are available for home and car repairs, clothing replacement or food and temporary housing costs. Original receipts are required for people seeking reimbursement for storm-recovery expenses, according to the Sheriff’s Office.

Grant applications and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website, and potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit claims.

The declaration also covers Cherokee, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Franklin, Hancock, Humboldt, Kossuth, O’Brien, Palo Alto, Sioux, Winnebago and Wright counties.

About Sam Wilmes

Sam Wilmes covers crime, courts and government for the Albert Lea Tribune.

email author More by Sam