Campus Notes

Published 9:00 am Saturday, August 3, 2019

A.L. student earns masters

Trisha Whelan was among 78 graduate students who were awarded a Masters of Education degree from Northwestern College during commencement ceremonies May 11. Whelan graduated with a master’s degree in early childhood.

SDSU announces dean’s list

Erica Wunschel of Albert Lea, Alexa Drescher of Alden, and Malarie Scholtes and Taylor Schultz of Wells were named to the dean’s list at South Dakota State University. To earn dean’s list distinctions in SDSU’s colleges, students must have completed a minimum of 12 credits and must have earned at least a 3.5 GPA on a 4.0 scale.

Local students graduate

Local students who graduated after the spring 2019 semester include Krista Davis of Albert Lea, who received magna cum laude honors; Ashley Johnson of Hartland; Amber Lobb of Albert Lea, who received cum laude honors; Kelly Martens of New Richland; Renae Meaney of Albert Lea; Leah Meineke of Albert Lea, who received magna cum laude honors; Emily Olson of Albert Lea; Lindsey Olson of Hayward, who received magna cum laude honors; Natalie Peek of Albert Lea; Keilyn Raatz of Albert Lea, who received summa cum laude honors; Kayla Roberts, who received magna cum laude honors; and Cassidy Williams of Albert Lea.

Winona State releases dean’s list

Winona State University has announced the dean’s list for spring semester 2019. Among those honored were Bryce Banton of Alden; Katelyn Nelson of Glenville; Paige Darrington of New Richland; Colleen Peterson of Clarks Grove; Cory Bennett, Brett Brownrigg, Rachel Donovan, Kelsey Enger, Madison Jacobson, Mariah Leach, Amber Lobb, Amanda Montes, Justice Morua, Samantha Nielsen, Brook Paulson, Eve Peterson, ReAnn Peterson, Sara Rasmussen, and Liana Schallock, all of Albert Lea; and Kelson Titus of Geneva. To be named to the dean’s list, a student must be an undergraduate enrolled full-time and achieve a minimum grade point average of 3.5.

Local students on dean’s list

Area students have been named to the dean’s list at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse for the spring semester of the 2018-19 academic year, ending May 2019. Students honored include Natalie Day and Kayla Jensen of Albert Lea, Kelsey Newman of Alden, Dillon Kubiatowicz of Geneva, Torrie Stencel of Hartland, and Abby Christopherson of New Richland. Qualification for the dean’s list is limited to students who have attained outstanding academic achievement. To be eligible, students must earn no less than a 3.5 semester grade point average and carried a minimum of 12 credits.

Area students recognized

Sydney Dahl of Emmons and Nikolle Guion of Albert Lea were recognized on The College of Scholastica spring 2019 dean’s list. Dean’s list members have achieved a 3.75 grade point average or above on a 4.0 scale.

Ellendale student honored

At the end of every April, Millikin University celebrates the academic accomplishments of its students at the annual Distinguished Faculty Lecture and Honors Convocation. This year’s event was April 25 at Kirkland Fine Arts Center and recognized the work of students and faculty during the 2018-19 academic year. Among those honored were Greta Jacobson of Ellendale, who received the Ed & Lucy Acheson Award for Chemistry.