Destiny Pitts up for National POY honors

Published 4:46 pm Friday, December 6, 2019

Minnesota junior Destiny Pitts has been named to the watch list for the 2019-20 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award, the U.S. Basketball Writers Association announced Thursday.

Pitts is one of 35 players, including one of four from the Big Ten, given consideration for National Player of the Year honors.

Email newsletter signup

A native of Detroit, Michigan, Pitts leads Minnesota in scoring (15.3 points per game) and assists (3.9), and ranks second in rebound average (4.0). She also paces the Big Ten in free throw percentage (87.5) and minutes played per game (34.72), while her 3-point prowess leaves her second in the league in 3-pointers made (20) and made per game (2.86).

Among her season highlights this year, Pitts was named to the Big Ten Honor Roll on Nov. 25 after scoring a season-high 26 points, including 19 in the second half, to help Minnesota rally from 12 down to beat Montana State. Prior to that, she scored 22 points with a career-high seven assists in a win over No. 19 Arizona State on Nov. 17 and, in the process, became the 25th player in Gophers’ history to reach 1,000 points for her career.

In Minnesota history, Pitts ranks sixth in career 3-pointers made (191) and attempted (519), seventh in 3-point percentage (.368), ninth in scoring average (14.8) and 20th in career points (1,065).

After earning Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors in the 2017-18 season, Pitts earned All-Big Ten First Team honors by the media and Second Team recognition from the coaches last season. This year, she was named a consensus selection to the Preseason All-Big Ten Team.

While all Division I players are eligible for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award, the USBWA board has chosen the players on the watch list to promote the award and give the membership, which votes on all USBWA awards, an early look at some of the best players in the country. In January, the USBWA will release a second watch list, followed by finalists after All-America balloting is complete in March.

The 2019-20 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award winner will be presented at the 2020 NCAA Women’s Final Four in New Orleans. The winner will also be honored at the annual USBWA Awards Luncheon at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on April 13, 2020.