Campus notes

Published 8:30 am Saturday, January 11, 2020

Area students awarded scholarships

The College of Human Sciences at Iowa State University awarded scholarships to students to support their unpaid internships and student teaching experiences during fall 2019.

Karina Stripe of Albert Lea, who is majoring in early childhood education, received the Dean’s Chair Scholarship.

Email newsletter signup

Sydney Larson of Lake Mills, who is majoring in family and consumer science education and studies, received the Mahoney Family Scholarship.

These scholarships help to offset cost-of-living expenses as students complete a semester of career-building experiences in the workplace before graduation.


Area student graduates with honor

Matthew David Nemec of Hayward earned a Bachelor of Arts in education, social sciences and coaching.

He earned an honorable mention with scholar in the major for his senior research project, “Creating an Enemy: The Dehumanization of Jewish Populations in Europe Pre-WWII.” Nemec also received an academic honorable mention, based on a cumulative GPA between 3.50 and 3.69 at the end of the semester prior to the semester of graduation. Wayne State College hosted commencement for graduate and undergraduate students Dec. 13 in Rice Auditorium on its campus in northeast Nebraska.


Local student inducted into national society

Courtney Evans of Albert Lea is one of 73 students who completed all necessary steps for induction into the largest honor society in the United States. Evans, who is a junior majoring in psychology at Bemidji State University, was selected for membership based on academic standing and leadership potential. There are currently 746 chapters of the National Society of Leadership and Success and over one million members nationwide.


Area students named to dean’s list

Madeline Schei of Hollandale was named to the University of Sioux Falls’ fall 2019 dean’s list. Schei is majoring in English education and secondary education. Schei was among more than 550 students named to the fall 2019 dean’s list. To qualify, students must earn a GPA of 3.5 or greater on a 4.0 scale.

Grant Fjelstad of Lake Mills was named to the Wartburg College fall term dean’s list. The list honors students who earned a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or above in at least four course credits during the term. Three of the four course credits have to be graded with a traditional letter grade.