Campus notes

Published 9:00 am Saturday, March 7, 2020

MSU-Mankato announces dean’s lists

The dean’s lists for the 2019 fall semester at Minnesota State University-Mankato have been announced. Among 3,445 students, a total of 915 students qualified for the high honor list by achieving a 4.0 straight A average, while 2,530 students earned a 3.5 to 3.99 average to qualify for the honor list.

To qualify for academic honors, undergraduate students must be enrolled for at least 12 credit hours for the semester.

Email newsletter signup

Students on the honor list were Mackenzie Anderson, Lauren Bizjak, Venesses Brito-Lino, Jadin Brue, Cali Cantu, Jarol Santillan Galindo and  Rachel Wangen of Albert Lea; Luke Monson and Jade Pekarek of Bricelyn; Brianna Anderson, Emily Crabtree and Katelyn Crabtree of Ellendale; Natalie Aaseth of Geneva; Kristi Fett and Morgan Jellinger of Glenville; Devin Ausen, Nicole Kaupa and Cari Mueske of Hartland; Maurya Johnson of New Richland; and Sky Anderson,  Kyley Bullerman, Claire Christianson, Luz Galindo de Rodriguez, Derek Herman and Ruth Rodriguez Galindo of Wells.

Students on the high honor list were Jazmin Brue, Kalli Citurs and Zane Sadauskis of Albert Lea; Brett Neel of Alden; Cheyenne Fendrich of Kiester; Erika Heideman of Northwood; Juliann Wiersma of Walters; and Anissa Janzig of Wells.


University of Mary announces dean’s list

Monica Bute of Alden was named to the dean’s list at the University of Mary in Bismarck, North Dakota, for the fall 2019 semester.


Local student inducted into Phi Kappa Phi

Greta Jacobson of Ellendale was recently initiated into the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society, according to a press release. Jacobson was initiated at Millikin University.

Jacobson is among approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10% of seniors and 7.5% of juniors are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10% of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897 under the leadership of undergraduate student Marcus L. Urann who had a desire to create a different kind of honor society: one that recognized excellence in all academic disciplines. Today, the society has chapters on more than 300 campuses in the United States and the Philippines. Its mission is “to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.”


Waldorf University announces dean’s list

Waldorf University recognized students who have achieved the dean’s list for the fall 2019-20 semester.

To achieve the dean’s list, students must be full-time, attain a grade point average of 3.50 or better and complete a minimum of 12 semester credits.

Area students named to the list were Nathaniel Jordon, Brittany-Ann Kirschbaum, Anna Ramaker and Faith Sorenson of Lake Mills; Thomas Fierova and Mary Rohne of Northwood; and Lauren Hein of Emmons.


Iowa State University release top 2% rankings

Morgan Fritz, a sophomore at the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences who is originally from Lake Mills, was ranked among the top 2% of students at Iowa State University.


Bemidji State releases dean’s list

Courtney Evans and Carter Simon of Albert Lea earned dean’s list honors from Bemidji State University in Bemidji at the conclusion of the fall 2019 semester.

To be eligible for the dean’s list, students must be enrolled for at least 12 credits and earn a 3.5 GPA during the semester. A total of 692 students earned fall 2019 dean’s list honors from the university, and an additional 355 students earned president’s list honors for earning perfect 4.0 GPAs.