• 73°


Albert Lea, Minnesota
Summary of School Board Minutes

The School Board of Independent School District 241 met in regular session on Monday, May 17, 2021, at 5:00 p.m. in the Board Room at Brookside Education Center, 211 West Richway Drive, Albert Lea, MN. School Board members present: Dave Klatt, Kim Nelson, Neal Skaar, Jill Marin, Dennis Dieser, Angie Hoffman, and Bruce Olson.

1. Motion to approve agenda. Motion carried 7-0.
2. Motion to approve Consent Agenda as presented. Motion carried 7-0.
3. Reports presented by Superintendent Funk, Board members Hoffman, Nelson, Skaar, Marin, Olson, Student Board member Yoon, Student Board member Farris, and teacher representative Laura Wangen.
4. Kathy Niebuhr provided a COVID-19 update.
5. Superintendent Funk provided a legislative update.
6. Superintendent Funk provided a graduation update. Motion to increase to six graduation tickets for Albert Lea High School graduation ceremony. Motion failed 2-5 (Hoffman and Marin in favor).
7. Motion to approve revisions to policy 419, policy 802, policy 510, policy 421, and policy 720 as presented. Motion carried 7-0.

Adjourned at 6:20 p.m.
Jill Marin, Clerk

The above is an unofficial summary of meeting proceedings. Complete approved minutes are available at www.alschools.org and available in the Superintendent’s Office, 211 West Richway Drive.