Sports Memories for July 3

Published 8:53am Sunday, July 3, 2011

By Chuck Anderson

50 years ago — 1961

Don Drommerhausen had five hits in five at bats, including a home run, for First Lutheran in their 16-15 victory over Conger in an Albert Lea Church Softball League game.

The Minnesota Twins swept a double header from the Boston Red Sox 6-5 and 6-3. Bob Allison hit a grand-slam home run for the Twins in the first game. Pedro Ramos picked up the win in the second game.

In a Southern Minnesota Baseball League game, the Albert Lea Packers defeated Mankato 4-0 behind the three-hit pitching of Merlin Petersen. Charlie Weathers had three hits, and Dave Long added two hits for the Packers.

25 years ago — 1986

In a Five-Star American Legion League baseball game, Alden defeated Glenville 14-4. Pete Schuster was the winning pitcher and Chris McKean had three hits for Alden. Mike Heideman had two hits for Glenville.

The Minnesota Twins defeated Kansas City 7-2 behind a home run by Tim Laudner and the pitching of Bert Blyleven.

Kent Hrbek, of the Minnesota Twins, was named the American League Player of the Month for June. He hit for a .400 average, hit eight home runs and had 27 RBIs. Roger Clemens of the Boston Red Sox had a 6-0 record and a 1.44 earned run average and was named the American League Pitcher of the Month of June.

10 years ago — 2001

The Albert Lea Merchants/Health Reach team won the 2001 Minnesota Sports Federation Class CC Men’s Volleyball State Championship. Team members included Tom Sorenson, Mike Diemer, Greg Deyak, Brad Arends, Kevin Dulitz, Stan Thompson and Vern Rasmussen.

The Lake Mills High School baseball team raised their season record to 16-3 with a 7-0 win over Belmond- Klemme. Kevin Stensrud hit a grand slam home run for the Bulldogs.

Award winners for the 2001 ALHS softball team included the following: Afton Delger and Emily Ulve, Senior Award and Leadership Award; Jerri Mondeel and Leah Boyer, Most Improved Player Award; Amber Sickels, Senior Award and Offensive Award; Danielle Jacobs, Defensive Award and True Grit Award.