Archived Story


Published 9:14am Friday, April 12, 2013


Mindy Christenson, leader of TOPS Minnesota Chapter 979, announced the February and March winners.

Division winners: Angie West, Janice Schroeder, Shirley Schuster, Ruth Thompson, Betty Hanson, Lois Goodnature and Deanne Kuchera.

Quarterly winners: Lois Goodnature and Fern Rockwell

Four-week loss: Keith Porter, Fern Rockwell and Mindy Christenson.

Showers fruit: Ardis Bang, Ardus Sanderson, Elayne Wichmann and Nancy Jenson.

Paper: Marion Meyer

Coin: Peggy Inderlie, Frieda Johannsen and Marion Meyer

Vegetable: Ardis Bang

TOPS (Take Off Pounds Sensibly) is a nonprofit weight-loss support group. There is no diet plan but support with others on the journey to health and wellness.

TOPS MN 979 meets at 9 a.m. on Thursdays at the Senior Center in the Skyline Plaza to weigh-in and learn about healthy lifestyles.


American Legion Auxiliary

American Legion Auxiliary Unit 56 met at 7 p.m. April 3 in the Legion dining room. President Bonnie Schneider opened the meeting. Usual opening ceremonies were held. The secretary’s report was given by Vonnie Oftedahl and the treasurer’s report was given by Rita Andersen. Karen Cibert, children and youth chairman, thanked everyone who had brought pop tabs for her project with the young man from Dakota. She encouraged the group to continue with the tabs, moo milk caps, education boxtops and Campbell’s soup labels. These can be dropped off at the Legion club. Ange Larson, education chairman, reported that she has not received any scholarship applications as of yet. Betty Andersen, national security chairwoman, would like coupons to send to troops.

Jenny Torgerson held a memorial service for members who are deceased from April 2012 to March 2013.

Janet Scherb, nominating committee, announced the officers for 2013-14. President will be Schneider, first vice president Maureen Stiehl, second vice president Larson, treasurer Deanne Adams, chaplain Jenny Torgerson, sergeant at arms Janet Scherb, executive board Cibert and Carol Smith.

The delegates for district convention in Stewartville on May 25-26 were elected: Schneider, Stiehl, Larson, Torgerson, Joyce Olson, Rita Andersen, Cibert, Smith, Isy Lee, Adams, Scherb and Dorothy Snider. They are also candidates for the department convention July 18-20 in Mahnomen.

Recommendations from the board were voted on and approved to Legionville, auxiliary emergency fund and historical museum building fund.

Quarter drawing was won by Smith. Lunch was served by Cibert.

Meeting adjourned with closing prayer by Torgerson.