Baseball Tigers named All-Big Nine

Published 12:00 am Saturday, June 9, 2001

Four Albert Lea High School baseball players are part of the 2001 All-Big Nine team.

Saturday, June 09, 2001

Four Albert Lea High School baseball players are part of the 2001 All-Big Nine team.

Email newsletter signup

Senior David Dahl and junior Isaac Walton were selected all-conference, as determined by a vote of the coaches. Seniors Phil Wacholz and Alan Attig received honorable mention.

The Tigers finished 6-10 in conference play, 8-13 overall.

Walton, a left-hander in his third varsity season, was the mainstay on the mound, logging 49 1/3 innings with a 2.13 earned run average. He struck out 49 and walked 29, finishing with a 3-5 record. Opponents batted .236 against him. Offensively, Walton batted .324 with a team-high three home runs and 14 RBIs.

Dahl, a shortstop, led the Tigers with a .347 batting average. As a relief pitcher he had a 1.24 ERA.

Attig posted team-bests of 18 runs scored and 10 stolen bases, batting .269. Wacholz, a three-year starter at catcher, hit .239 with 10 RBIs.

The 2001 All-Big Nine Conference Baseball Team, by school:

* Albert Lea – David Dahl, sr.; Isaac Walton, jr.;

* Austin – Jamie Morrison, sr.; Jeff Kvam, sr.;

* Faribault – Josh Remme, jr.; Nick Rost, soph.;

* Mankato East – Mark Rivers, jr.;

* Mankato West – Darren Tungsvik, sr.; Ben Thompson, sr.;

* Owatonna – Aaron Bloom, sr.; Jesse Seykora, soph.;

* Rochester Century – Eric Ruopsa, sr.; Greg Miller, sr.; Blake Kangas, sr.; Mike Badger, jr.; Matt Mulvihill, sr.;

* Rochester JM – Joe Magee, sr.; James Smarzyk, sr.; Mark Clarey, sr.;

* Rochester Mayo – Sam Everson, sr.; Ryan Fulton, sr.; Joe Cicora, sr.; Jim Strain, jr.; Heath Henderson, sr.;

* Winona – Nic Cappel, sr.; Mike Rose, jr.

Honorable mention:

* Albert Lea – Phil Wacholz, sr.; Alan Attig, sr.;

* Faribault – Chuck Novotny, sr.;

* Mankato East – Chris Hager, sr.; Matt Fritz, sr.;

* Mankato West – Eric Starke, soph.; Mitch Salisbury, soph.;

* Owatonna – Paul Greer, sr.; Neil Yentsch, sr.;

* Rochester Century – Dan Lyons, soph.; Bob Klein, sr.;

* Rochester JM – Tim Welke, sr.;

* Rochester Mayo – Justin Sokol, jr.; Kory Nelson, sr.;

* Winona – Andy Hengel, sr.; Sean Zaborowski, jr.; Jose Rueda, sr.; Andy Fox, sr.

Dick Speltz Big Nine Player of the Year – Sam Everson, Rochester Mayo

Big Nine Coach of the Year – Keith Kangas, Rochester Century

Big Nine baseball 2001 final standings

conf. overall

Rochester Century 15-2 17-3

Rochester Mayo 14-3 17-3

Winona 9-8 11-9

Mankato East 9-8 9-10

Rochester John Marshall 9-9 10-10

Owatonna 7-10 8-11

Albert Lea 6-10 8-13

Austin 5-11 6-12

Faribault 5-12 7-12

Mankato West 4-11 6-12