Filing for state, local elections ends Tuesday

Published 12:00 am Monday, July 15, 2002

Tuesday is the last day for local candidates to register to get their name on the ballot for the September primary election.

Filing for federal, state, county and city offices closes at the end of the business day Tuesday.

Offices up for election this year in Albert Lea and Freeborn County include:

Email newsletter signup

– Mayor of Albert Lea. This position is elected every two years. The mayor is elected by the entire city of Albert Lea.

– Albert Lea City councilor in wards two, four and six. These are the seats now held by David McPherson, Ron Sorensen and Al &uot;Minnow&uot; Brooks.

– Freeborn County commissioner in districts two and four. These are the seats now held by Dave Mullenbach and Dan Belshan.

– Freeborn County sheriff.

– Freeborn County auditor, recorder and attorney.

– District 27A representative, for a territory including Freeborn County and a small part of Mower County, now represented by Dan Dorman, R-Albert Lea.

– District 27 senator, for a territory including all of Freeborn and Mower counties and part of Fillmore County, now represented by Grace Schwab, R-Albert Lea.