Woodside, Thorn make all-conference

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, March 17, 2004

The Big Nine all-conference selections for boys’ basketball have been announced and, not surprisingly, Albert Lea’s Ben Woodside is included in the first team.

Woodside, a senior guard and a finalist for Minnesota’s Mr. Basketball Award, is joined on the first team by the Tigers’ Stephen Thorn.

Albert Lea junior Mike Behrends and sophomore Parker Skophammer received honorable mention.

Email newsletter signup

The coach of the year was Steve Lansing of Faribault.

The 2003-04 all-conference team, by school:

– Albert Lea &045; Ben Woodside, sr.; Stephen Thorn, sr.; honorable mention &045; Mike Behrends, jr.; Parker Skophammer, soph.;

– Austin &045; John Duren, sr.; honorable mention &045; Alex Kaiser, jr.;

– Faribault &045; Joe Mews, sr.; Mike Hein, sr.; Ian Sommers, jr.; honorable mention &045; Jon Karli, sr.;

– Mankato East &045; Joe Kaus, sr.; Mitch Gossen, jr.; honorable mention &045; Jesse Graves, jr.;

– Mankato West &045; Andy Wills, jr.; Scott Nessler, jr.; Tommy Saffert, sr.;

– Owatonna, honorable mention &045; Justin Barlow, sr.; Drew Lundberg, fr.;

– Rochester Century &045; Ryan Freed, jr.; honorable mention &045; Tim Deidrick, jr.;

– Rochester John Marshall &045; Cory Lott, sr.; honorable mention &045; Joel Luedke, sr.; Greg Polt, sr.;

– Rochester Mayo &045; Wade Piazza, sr.; Casey Adkins, sr.; Ben Sullivan, sr.;

– Winona &045; David Dreas, sr.; Jon Lica, sr.