Nine Tiger wrestlers named all-conference

Published 12:00 am Friday, March 17, 2006

ALBERT LEA &045;&160;Big Nine Conference champion Albert Lea had nine wrestlers named to the all-conference team.

The Tigers finished the Big Nine season with a perfect record and advanced nine individuals to the state tournament.

Cody Hansen received all-conference recognition at 103 pounds.

Email newsletter signup

State runner-up Eric Johnson was perfect in conference action at 119, and Beau Hansen led the way at 130 pounds to earn honors.

Logan Hansen earned Big Nine honors at 140, Matt Morris was a perfect 8-0 at 145 and Taylor Ignaszewski went 8-0 at 160 to make the all-conference squad.

Alex Paul (171), Mike Honeycutt (215) and Ben Berhow (275) rounded out the final three all-conference wrestlers for the Tigers.

Albert Lea’s Zach McGinnis was an at-large selection with his 6-0 record at 135 pounds.

The Tigers dominated Big Nine foes including Owatonna when the two squads met early in the season ranked Nos. 1 and 2 in the state.