Albert Lea A Squirts win home tourney, make it 2 in a row

Published 12:00 am Saturday, February 3, 2007

The Albert Lea A Squirt team sponsored by Svendsen Masonary went undefeated to win its home tournament last weekend.

The A Squirt team also won the Paynesville tournament earlier this month.

Albert Lea beat a very good New Ulm team

Email newsletter signup

6-3 in its first game with goals by Ryan Petersen, Lucas Petersen, Zac Thelen and a hat trick from Shea Svendsen. Assists went to Thelen, Alec Avery, Alex Claassen and Lucas Petersen. Garrett Matz was in the net to seal the win.

In the second game, Albert Lea beat a tough Rochester team 6-5. Rochester scored first, but A.L. came back with three unanswered goals and held on for the win. Scoring for Albert Lea were Avery, Claassen, Jared Olson, Wyatt Olson, Petersen and Svendsen with two. Assists were made by Claassen, Wyatt Olson, Kohl Kriewall and Lucas Petersen with three. Adam Syversen stopped a

late game flurry to keep the visitors from tying the game.

Albert Lea played Mason City in its third game. An overturned goal late in the third period with the game

tied created a hostile Mason City crowd, but it didn&8217;t matter with Albert Lea scoring two more times in the period to win 7-5. Scoring for A.L. were Svendsen with two, Lucas Petersen, Wyatt Olson, Timmy Furland with two, and Thelen. Assists went to Matt Cheever, Jared Olson and Wyatt Olson.

Matz was in the net.

The last game was against a metro team in Richfield. Albert Lea would not be intimidated and came away with a 10-4 dominating win.

Scoring were Furland with two, Cheever, Van Zelenak with two, Wyatt Olson, Svendsen, Avery, Lucas Petersen and Jonothan Fleek. Assists went to Jared Olson, Andrew Thompson, Furland, Claassen with three, Lucas Petersen, Fleek and Zelenak.

Syversen was in the net.

The Albert Lea

team also took home the coveted hot dog eating contest trophy &8212; a sign of a disciplined, well coached team.

The Albert Lea A Squirts

are having a great year with a 16-8-1 record. The team is coached by Steve Svendsen, Jon Breuer, Bob Furland and Ross Petersen.