Cross-country skiers must have pass

Published 9:09 am Friday, December 19, 2008

State law requires cross-country skiers to purchase either a daily, annual or three-year pass before using any grant-in-aid and state-operated trail this winter. All money raised from the sale of the ski passes directly supports 1,800 miles of designated cross-country ski trails throughout Minnesota, according to the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources.

“Skiers should think of the passes as an investment in their sport,” said Andrew Korsberg, trail program coordinator for the DNR. “The money collected is funneled directly into the grant-in-aid program to support and expand the trail system statewide, and to maintain it at the level skiers have come to expect.”

Ski passes cost $5 for the daily, $15 for the annual, and $40 for the three-year pass.

Email newsletter signup

The ski pass was established in 1983. The law requires skiers 16 years of age and older to have a valid Minnesota ski trail pass with them at all times while on a designated trail. Skiers found without a pass may be ticketed.

Skiers may purchase passes at any one of nearly 1,800 electronic licensing agents throughout Minnesota and at most state parks that have ski trails. Annual and three-year passes may also be purchased online at People may also purchase a ski pass by calling 1-888-665-4236, or by mail at DNR License Center, 500 Lafayette Road, St. Paul, MN 55155-4026. Passes ordered by mail require approximately two weeks for delivery.

A $3.50 convenience fee will be added to the sale of passes sold over

the Internet or by phone. Minnesota cross-country ski trail information,

including trail locations, maps and conditions, is available on the DNR

Web site at