Nystrom, Grosso named Big Nine coaches of the year

Published 8:50 am Monday, February 23, 2009

Albert Lea head coach Roy Nystrom and Rochester Mayo head coach Lorne Grosso were both named Big Nine head coach of the year this weekend.

Nystrom, in his 36th year at Albert Lea, led the Tigers to their first Big Nine Conference title since 199-94 and won his 600th career game against John Marshall on Feb. 10. Albert Lea finished the regular season with a 17-8-0 overall record and an 8-1-0 record in the Big Nine. The Tigers finished tied atop the conference with Rochester Century.

Four days after Nystrom recorded his 600th career win, Grosso accomplished the same feat. His win came against Nystrom no less, on Feb. 14 in Rochester. Gross has spent all 42 years of his coaching career at Mayo.

Email newsletter signup

Grosso has made the state tournament seven times in his career and Nystrom has appeared three times.

The Albert Lea boys’ hockey team earned the No. 4 seed for the Section 1A playoffs.

The Tigers will face Mankato West Thursday at 7 p.m. at the City Arena in Albert Lea.

Red Wing earned the No. 1 seed, New Prague the No. 2, and Rochester Lourdes the No. 3.

Faribault has the No. 6 seed and La Crescent the seventh seed. Northfield is the No. 8 seed and Waseca No. 9. Mankato East is the No. 10 seed and Austin has the 11th seed.