ALHS vocalists take part in solo and ensemble contest

Published 9:10 am Thursday, February 18, 2010

On Jan. 30, 62 vocalists from Albert Lea High School competed at the Minnesota State High School League-sponsored State Solo and Ensemble Contest at Lakeville South High School.

They sang and were critiqued by judges starting at 8 a.m. until about 3:30 p.m. that day.

Earning superiors for their vocal performance were the Chorale; Aaron Thomas; Tanieka Petty; mixed quartet of Holly Ryks, Mollie Hernandez, Zach Wilke and Dan Edwards; Erika Blickenderfer; Erin Everhard; Kayla Hartmann; trio of Mikaela Pierson, Erika Blickenderfer and Kelly Duncomb; Maddy Ruble; Anthony Tate; Taylor Peek; Mallory Dzuira; duet with Ashley Tewes and Samantha Stanley; Renee Holcomb; Chelsea Petersen; Samantha Petersen; Katie Cope; Joey Anthonisen; Alik Smed; Rachel Gould; Morgan Ciota; Morgan Field; Macy Paul; Brooke Thompson; Holly Ryks; Lana Howe; Chloe Johnson; Zach Wilke; duet with Chloe Johnson and Emily Troe; men’s ensemble with Tim Stoneking, Anthony Tate, Andrew Schewe and Nick Bera; Colleen Thompson; Claire Buendorf; Mikaela Pierson; Kelly Duncomb; duet with Tim Stoneking and Anthony Tate; Emily Troe; trio with Chloe Johnson, Holly Ryks and Emily Troe; Derik DeVries; and Kayla Swee.

Email newsletter signup

An excellent rating was given to Michelle Hartman; Emily Stoneking; Alayna Wood; duet with Chelsea Petersen and Stacia Lebeck; Show Choir; Mariah Maras; Sean Laurie; Sarah Estes; Sergio Salgado; Reid Anderson; Kelsey Lenhart; Samantha Stanley; Chelsea Kleinschrodt; Noah Christopherson; Mollie Hernandez; duet with Alexa McCune and Jocelyn Smith; duet with Samantha Petersen and Ashley Petersen; men’s ensemble with Sergio Salgado, Stuart Behling, Jace Talamantes, Matt Buhr, Danny Lysne, Matt Boelmann, Nick Bera and Zach Battleson; Matt Buhr; duet with Jessica Vano and Colleen Thompson; Elizabeth Wangen; and duet with Noah Christopherson and Maddy Ruble.

The ALHS students were accompanied by their teacher, Diane Heaney, and Eileen Nelson-Ness.