1 week to go for candidate filings

Published 9:45 am Wednesday, May 26, 2010

No new Albert Lea candidates filed for city office Tuesday, which was the end of the first week of the filing period. There is one more week left.

That means thus far, there are three candidates for Albert Lea mayor and one candidate for each of the other City Council seats open for re-election.

For the mayoral race, incumbent Mayor Mike Murtaugh will face 1st Ward Councilor Vern Rasmussen and former 5th Ward Councilor John Severtson.

Email newsletter signup

For the 2nd Ward, incumbent Larry Baker has filed for re-election. 

For the 4th ward, incumbent Reid Olson has filed his intention to keep his seat, and in the 6th Ward, incumbent Al Brooks is seeking another four years on the council.

Filing continues through June 1 at City Hall for city offices and at the Freeborn County Auditor-Treasurer’s Office for county and state seats. State seats can also be filed through the Minnesota secretary of state. 

Here is a rundown of local state seats:

Minnesota State Senate

 District 24

Incumbent Sen. Julie Rosen, R-Fairmont, is seeking re-election. She filed on Friday.  Thus far, she does not have an opponent. 

District 26

Republican Mike Parry of Waseca — who won a special election to become senator in January after Sen. Dick Day resigned — will face off against Alex DeMarco, DFL-Faribault.

District 27

Sheriff’s race has 3 candidates

2 more people file for city seats

Austin woman challenges Sparks

3 incumbents, former councilor file for city seats

Already there’s contest for sheriff’s race

In this Senate district, Austin school board member Kathy Green, R-Austin, will face off against incumbent Sen. Dan Sparks, DFL-Austin. 

Minnesota State House of Representatives

District 24A

Incumbent House Rep. Bob Gunther, R-Fairmont, has filed for re-election. Gunther is the assistant minority leader in the state House of Representatives. He is currently unopposed. 

District 24B

Incumbent House Rep. Tony Cornish, R-Vernon Center, has filed for re-election. He is the police chief in Lake Crystal. He is currently unopposed.

District 26A

Incumbent House Rep. Kory Kath, DFL-Owatonna, will face off against David Thul, R-Owatonna.

District 26B

Incumbent House Rep. Patti Fritz, DFL-Faribault, will run against Dan Kaiser, R-Medford, for this seat. 

District 27A

No candidates have filed yet for this seat.

District 27B

Incumbent House Rep. Jeanne Poppe, DFL-Austin, is the only person who has filed for this seat thus far.