Participants sought for second Shinefest Tractor Ride

Published 10:40 am Saturday, May 29, 2010

Organizers are hoping the second annual Shinefest Tractor Ride will be even better than the first.

Nordean Krueger, one of the event’s organizers, said last year’s first ride, with nearly 40 tractors, was very successful.

“So this year, we’re going to allow up to 100,” Krueger said of the July 17 event.

Email newsletter signup

The ride is open to any pre-1974 make or model tractor. Drivers must have a valid driver’s license and each tractor must be equipped with a slow-moving vehicle sign.

Only one person will be allowed on each tractor, unless the tractor has a second safety seat. No cabs will be allowed. Rear-view mirrors are recommended and drivers must carry their own insurance.

All traffic laws will be enforced, including the use of alcoholic beverages. No passing will be allowed. There will be two speed classes, 14 mph and 10 mph.

The entry fee for a tractor and driver is $25. Additional riders are $20.

The entry fee includes a Shinefest button; breakfast at the Freeborn County Fairgrounds; coffee breaks in Glenville, Hollandale, Geneva and Clarks Grove; lunch in Hayward; and a pork sandwich supper at the fairgrounds. Breakfast will be served from 7:30 to 8:30 a.m. and the ride will leave the fairgrounds about 9 a.m. The tractors will return about 5 p.m., when the public is invited to come out and visit with the drivers and check out the tractors, Krueger said.

Along the way, the tractors will visit all three Albert Lea nursing homes — Thorne Crest, Good Samaritan and St. John’s Lutheran Home.

“That’s what made our hearts warm last year,” Krueger said. “They (the residents) were all out there.”

Entry forms are available at L&D Ag, Ag Power Enterprises, Erlandson’s Inc., Fleet Farm Supply, the Albert Lea Convention & Visitors Bureau and Titan Machinery.

For more information, contact Krueger at 373-5014 or 383-8844 or Dale Grotsun at (507)863-2335 or 383-2766.

Shinefest Tractor Ride committee members are Grotsun, Krueger, Alton Kvenvold, Marvin Thompson, Dwayne Anderson, Dave Virgil, Bill Jacobson and Cork Modene.