Sheriff’s race has 3 candidates

Published 10:45 am Tuesday, May 25, 2010

A third candidate has filed for the position of Freeborn County sheriff.

In addition to Mark Harig and Marc Johnson, Ryan Merkouris has filed to run. Merkouris started his career in 2000 with the Freeborn County Sheriff’s Office as a patrol deputy and since 2007 has been part of the Albert Lea Police Department. He is a patrol officer.

In a written statement Merkouris said, “If elected sheriff, I plan to make the safety of the citizens of Freeborn County my No. 1 priority. I will not only listen to the public’s concerns, but take the necessary steps to assure they are addressed.”

Email newsletter signup

He also wrote, “I hope that the voters of Freeborn County see me as not only an investment in the future of the Sheriff’s Office, but as a truthful representative whom you can hold accountable for the promises made and promises to be kept for years to come.”

Harig announces he will seek re-election as sheriff

Already there’s contest for sheriff’s race

Johnson is currently a deputy sheriff for Freeborn County and said he wants to give residents of Freeborn County “the opportunity to choose someone with more

experience, education and integrity to properly run the Sheriff’s Office.”

“I have a committment to this community, a respect for its residents and the vast education and experience to better serve the residents of Freeborn County as their sheriff. I would like your help in returning the integrity and fairness in Freeborn County,” Johnson said.

As of press time, Sheriff Harig was unavailable for comment.

Conservation district

Two positions are open for Freeborn County Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor. District 3 and District 4 are both up for election. Paul R. Heers Jr. has filed to run for supervisor of District 3. Anyone who lives in the nomination districts is encouraged to file by June 1, and those with questions can stop by the Soil and Water Conservation office at 1400 W. Main St. in Albert lea.

Iowa races

Filings are completed for Worth and Winnebago counties in Iowa.

In Worth County for the 1st District supervisor Dave Prestholt, R, is running against incumbent Dennis May, D. For 3rd District supervisor Lois Colleen Lawler, R, is running against incumbent Jeffrey L. Creger, D. Jake Hanson, R, is running for treasurer, Liz Kenison, R, for recorder and Jeff H. Greve, R, for attorney.

In Winnebago County for the 1st District supervisor, Gloria Johnson (R) and Terry Durby, R, are competing against each other with no Democrat filing. For 3rd District supervisor, Stacy Willert, R, will run against incumbent Warren Willie Wubben, D. Kristin Colby, R, is running for recorder, Julie Swenson, R, for treasurer and Karla Niederkofler running to fill a vacancy for auditor.