A.L. 15th after Day 1 of invite

Published 1:23 pm Saturday, May 14, 2011

Albert Lea senior Nick Dulas chips onto the green Friday on Hole 17 at Green Lea Golf Course in the Albert Lea Invitational. Dulas bogied the hole but tied Brent Nafzger for the team-low with an 83 for the round. -- Andrew Dyrdal

Dulas, Nafzger led Tigers with 83s, Rogers topped leaderboard

A new year brought new results Friday after Day 1 of the Albert Lea Invitational at Green Lea Golf Course.

Albert Lea ninth-grader putts Friday on Hole 17 at Green Lea Golf Course during Day 1 of the Albert Lea Invitational. Peterson pared the hole and shot a 92 for the round. -- Andrew Dyrdal

After leading a 17-team field following the first round last year, the Albert Lea boys’ golf team sat 15th of 20 teams heading into Saturday’s final round at Wedgewood Cove Golf Course.

Email newsletter signup

Senior Nick Dulas and ninth-grader Brent Nafzger led the Tigers with 83s for the first round, and junior captain Brady Falk shot

Albert Lea junior Brady Falk watches his putt Friday roll toward the cup on Hole 17 at Green Lea Golf Course. -- Andrew Dyrdal

84. Adam Syverson shot 87 and rounded out the Tigers scoring.

Rogers topped the team leaderboard by three strokes with 299, and Nic Jensen, of Rochester Lourdes, shot the lowest individual score of 69.

Nafzger was the Tigers most consistent golfer on Day 1 and double-bogeyed only one hole. Beginning on Hole 11, Nafzger pared his round’s first two holes before scoring four straight bogeys. Nafzger birdied Hole 17 and pared four of his final six holes beginning on No. 5.

Dulas began play on Hole 14 and opened the invitational with a birdie and par. Dulas pared seven holes on the round but double-bogeyed twice. He had the Tigers’ lowest back nine score of 40.

Falk opened Friday with pars on Hole Nos. 11 and 12 before bogeying eight of the next nine holes. Falk then settled down to par Nos. 4 through 7 but finished four-over par through his final three holes.

Nate Stadheim and Lucas Peterson both shot 92 for the Tigers but didn’t make the cut into the Tigers’ score.

Beginning Day 2 at Wedgewood Cove Golf Club Saturday, the Tigers

were within 10 strokes of Byron and Austin. The second round of the Albert Lea Invitational began at 8:30 a.m.

Team Leaderboard

1. Rogers 299

2. Orono 301

3. Lakeville South 306

4. Chanhassen 307

4. Wayzata 307

6. Rochester Lourdes 308

7. Chaska 314

8. Mankato West 317

9. Roseville Area 318

10. Stillwater 322

11. Rochester Century 323

12. Cretin-Derham Hall 324

13. Byron 326

14. Austin 331

15. Albert Lea 337

16. Fairmont 341

17. Northfield 350

18. Kingsland 362

19. Albert Lea JV 366

20. Southland 387

Individual Leaderboard

Nic Jensen, Rochester Lourdes 69

Matt Peterson, Orono 71

M. Rask, Rogers 72

Miles Knutsen, Orono 72

Joe Shroyer, Chanhassen 73

Mac Buege, Rogers 73

Brandon Mader, Lakeville South 73

Andrew Brandt, Wayzata 74

Sam Matthew, Roseville Area 74

Jacob Hansen, Chaska 75

Collin Lervick, Chanhassen 76

Jon DuToit, Chaska 76

Miles Death, Wayzata 76

Justin Doeden, Lakeville South 77

Erik Provo, Lakeville South 77

C. Muenzhuber, Rogers 77

J. Rykal, Rogers 77

Lars Lillehei, Stillwater 77

Dom Kieffer, Byron 78

Jack Holmgren, Wayzata 78

Cade Gersich, Chaska 78

Mitch Pfingsten, Fairmont 78

Cody Majeskie, Mankato West 78

J.B. Schlichte, Mankato West 78

Alex Shepherd, Rochester Lourdes 78

Zach Maanum, Chanhassen 79

Thomas, Krause 79

Garrett Emond, Lakeville South 79

Tony Gergen, Cretin-Derham Hall 79

David Stein, Wayzata 79

Eli Finkelstein, Wayzata 79

Drian Urness, Orono 79

Zenny Kuzyk, Rochester Century 80

Will Holmgren, Wayzata 80

Anders Haukoos, Lakeville South 80

Alejandro Olson, Roseville Area 80

Sammy Sicard, Stillwater 80

Nicholas Fritz, Mankato West 80

Pat Johnston, Orono 80

C.J. Fritcher, Rochester Century 81

Andrew Kimble, Roseville Area 81

Cordie Walker, Rochester Century 81

Michael Klampe, Rochester Century 81

J.R. Shimpach, Cretin-Derham Hall 81

Alex Kapraun, Rochester Lourdes 81

Tony Tilleson, Roseville Area 81

Issac Christianson, Austin 81

Joe Obrien, Chaska 81

Dylan Post, Fairmont 81

Dakota Clark, Orono 81

Kyle Kapraun, Rochester Lourdes 81

Alex Case, Chaska 82

Tim Shaffer, Austin 82

Tommy McCann, Roseville Area 82

Kris Sveum, Rochester Century 82

Graham Krumpelmann, Stillwater 82

Mike Espey, Byron 82

Dan Lensing, Orono 82

Brent Nafzger, Albert Lea 83

Nick Dulas, Albert Lea 83

Charley Clements, Stillwater 83

Robb Shautz, Roseville Area 83

Channing Tipton, Rochester Lourdes 83

C.J. Wengler, Cretin-Derham Hall 83

Ike Daugherty, Cretin-Derham Hall 83

Alex Thorson, Byron 83

Jocob Boe, Byron 83

N. Olsen, Mankato West 83

Brady Falk, Albert Lea 84

Andy Suedbek, Rogers 84

Josh Baldus, Fairmont 84

Connor Hedlund, Byron 84

Aaron Duncan , Chanhassen 84

Mike Williams, Cretin-Derham Hall 84

Josh Wolfer, Chaska 85

Mark Pagel, Rochester Lourdes 85

Nate Vorwerk, Kingsland 85

Logan Bashaw, Byron 86

Mark Thorson, Austin 86

Mack Farley, Lakeville South 86

Zach Hnath, Rogers 86

Adam Syverson, Albert Lea 87

Chris Captain, Rochester Century, 87

Micheal Thede, Mankato West 87

Sam Gill, Northfield 87

Matt Breitbarth, Southland 87

Alex Knight, Northfield 87

Blake Finger, Northfield 88

Luke Dietsch, Cretin-Derham Hall 88

Brady Loch, Albert Lea JV 88

Billy Seeberg, Northfield 88

Evan Anderson, Stillwater 99

Cody Seal, Chanssen 88

Kurt Patterson, Stillwater 89

Scott Snyder, Austin 89

Nate Hemann, Byron 89

Seth Shutster, Northfield 90

Nick Bly, Kingsland 91

Nate Stadheim, Albert Lea 92

Lucas Peterson, Albert Lea 92

Cody Post, Fairmont 92

Ryan Peterson, Albert Lea JV 92

Jake Harder, Kingsland 92

Tyler Bergene, Southland 92

Tom DeSutter, Northfield 92

Logan Callahan, Albert Lea JV 93

Dalton Flatness, Albert Lea JV 93

Colin Shantz, Fairmont 93

Trent Harder, Kingsland 93

Tony Baudler, Austin 94

Carter Welchlin, Fairmont 94

A. Kinowski, Mankato West 96

Alex Syverson, Albert Lea JV 97

Brock Carstens, Albert Lea JV 99

Josh Thompson 100

Nick Neuvirth, Southland 103

Spencer Klevan, Kingsland 104

Cody Erie, Southland 105

Marcus Johnson, Southland 105

Tyler Westrich, Southland 132