Campus Notes

Published 9:20 am Saturday, May 14, 2011

Local dentist completes training

Dr. Marko Kamel of Albert Lea has recently completed an advanced comprehensive post-graduate continuing education program in esthetic dentistry both levels I and II at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis.

“This is a unique opportunity for practicing dentists to become involved with the latest techniques in cosmetic dentistry,” said Paul Belvedere, D.D.S., adjunct professor, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry. “The University of Minnesota is one of only two premiere university-based clinical training centers for contemporary esthetic dentistry in the country.”

Email newsletter signup

“Participating dentists acquire their skills working with the leading clinical teachers,” said Paul Olin, D.D.S., M.S., director of the postgraduate programs in Esthetic dentistry. “Esthetic restorative procedures are important to patients and dentists alike; both can appreciate the immediate results and the innovative conservation of the tooth structure.”

Kamel is now one of a few dentists in North America who have achieved this level of training in Contemporary Esthetic Dentistry.

Knutson honored with award

University of Wisconsin – Stout honored Jarrad Knutson, of Glenville, employed at Northwestern Mutual Financial Network – Bohannon Group, Mankato, as a 2009-10 Cooperative Education Meritorious Achievement Award recipient. The award is given to students who apply and are selected by the Cooperative Education Advisory Committee. Students are recognized for excellence and achievements in their cooperative program, for contributions to their employers and for academic achievement.

Birkhofer accepted into Theta

Jennifer Birkhofer was part of a group of 70 students from the College of Saint Benedict, St. Joseph, and Saint John’s University, Collegeville, accepted into the Theta of Minnesota Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa at CSB/SJU. The students were formally initiated at a ceremony on May 3 at Pellegrene Auditorium, SJU.

Birkhofer is the daughter of Dewey and Jan Birkhofer of Albert Lea. Birkhofer is a senior art and psychology double major at CSB.

NIACC recognizes graduates at commencement

The following area students graduated from North Iowa Area Community College. Some were recognized during the May 6 commencement. Graduates and pecial honors and awards include:

Lake Mills, Iowa, students include: Jordan Thomas Banwart, Phi Theta Kappa, Frank Schmitz Memorial Scholarship, Cassie Louise Christianson, Phi Theta Kappa, Jill Nicole Christianson, Yvonne Marie Helgeson, Amanda Renee Jensen, Michael Alan Johnson, Samantha Ree Nelson, Amanda Jean Street, Jake Lee Thompson, Robin Joy Thompson, Tracy, Noreen Thompson and Christine Diane Willis.

Northwood, Iowa, students include: Danielle Jo Colby, Melanie Sue Gooden, Angelia Joy Hoffman, Scott Carl Kalvig, Phi Theta Kappa, Wells Fargo Bank Scholarship, Nathan D. Moretz, Marissa Ann Nitcher, Amanda Ann Olson, Daniel, William Porter, Jill Koreen Rothove, Ross Alan Sederburg and Danielle Marie Treslan.

Albert Lea students include: Michael James Kelley and James Michael VanRyswyk.

Glenville student accepted to Bethany Lutheran College

Peter Hansen has been accepted for admission at Bethany Lutheran College in Mankato. Hansen is the son of Paul and Karen Hansen of Glenville. Hansen is a senior at Glenville-Emmons High School.

Local student participates in study abroad program

Ashley Trail, of Albert Lea, majoring in exercise science, is among the Northwestern College students who will head around the world this summer on three-week study abroad programs led by NWC professors.

Dr. Paul Bartlett, kinesiology, and Vonda Post, business, will team a study abroad course in the Czech Republic that will examine that nation’s “physical culture” — a concept that encompasses fitness and sports but that also links physical vigor with nationalism. Students will compare and contrast various aspects of U.S. and Czech physical culture, including such topics as historical/philosophical development, delivery systems, social issues and economic considerations.

Scholarship winners announced

Brielle Smith

Brielle Smith is a recipient of a $1,000 Moose International/R. Robert Dale Scholarship for 2011. Smith will be graduating from Albert Lea High School.

R. Robert Dale Scholarship winners must meet eligibility criteria by being the child or grandchild of — or under legal guardianship of — a member of the Moose fraternal organization; and must carry at least a 2.5 out of 4.0 accumulated GPA.

Student participates in Americorps Buildathon

Amanda Weiss, a 2005 graduate of Glenville-Emmons High School and 2008 graduate of Waldorf College, participated in the 2011 Americorps Buildathon in Milwaukee, Wis., through May 14. The Buildathon focuses on Habitat for Humanity’s Neighborhood Revitilization initiative. Work includes building new homes, rehabilitating vacant properties, home repairs and weatherization.