Moore wins Honda-Broderick Cup

Published 2:40 pm Monday, June 27, 2011

Maya Moore, above, was the No. 1 pick in the WNBA Draft by the Minnesota Lynx. -- Getty Images

NEW YORK — Former Connecticut star Maya Moore has won the Honda-Broderick Cup for the second straight year as the top female college athlete.

Moore, the No. 1 overall draft pick of the Minnesota Lynx, joined swimmer Tracy Caulkins (1982 and ’84) as the only athletes to win the award twice.

The announcement was made Monday at Columbia University as Moore beat out fellow finalists Sheila Reid, a distance runner from Villanova, and Penn State volleyball player Blair Brown.

Email newsletter signup

Moore is the fourth-leading scorer in NCAA history and helped lead the Huskies to four Final Four appearances, including two national titles.

Previous winners include: Candace Parker (2008), Misty May (1999), Mia Hamm (1994) and Jackie Joyner-Kersee (1985).