Local pro wins disc golf tourney

Published 9:23 am Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Nick Perry of Mason City, Iowa, tees off Saturday during the Big Freeze Ice Bowl on Hole 3 of the temporary disc golf course the members of the Flying Lea Disc Golf Club set up on the back nine of the former Albert Lea Country Club. Thirty-six people turned out for the tournament, and they donated more than 250 pounds to local food shelves. -- Submitted photo

A professional disc golfer who moved to Albert Lea last autumn won the first local disc golf tournament he participated in.

Tim Engstrom, one of the tournament directors, awards the first-place trophy and $80 to Vibram-sponsored pro disc golfer Ross Brandt of Albert Lea.

Ross Brandt, whose primary sponsor is Vibram, shot 20 under par Saturday to win the Big Freeze Ice Bowl. He won the St. Cloud Ice Bowl earlier this winter and has won several other tourneys, but this is the first title he has garnered in Albert Lea.

Brandt is a graduate student at the Minnesota State University, Mankato. He won $80 and a trophy.

Email newsletter signup

The tournament attracted 36 disc golfers from around the region and raised more than 250 pounds of nonperishable food items for local food shelves.

The entry fee was five nonperishable food items.

Brian Gustafson, an Owatonna teacher, won a trophy for donating the most food items.

Brian Wells, left, leans on his disc golf cart while Kory Krause putts at Hole 1. In the center is Tim Stumo.

The tournament was sponsored by Nancy VanderWaerdt State Farm Insurance.

Ben Keist of Mankato took second, Mitch Privette of the Twin Cities came in third and Bill Orozco of Mason City, Iowa, won a sudden-death tiebreaker to finish with the fourth-place trophy.

Andy Richardson and Tim Engstrom with the Flying Lea Disc Golf Club ran the Big Freeze Ice Bowl on a course club members set up on the back nine of the former Albert Lea Country Club, now owned by St. John’s Lutheran Home.


1. Ross Brandt, 88, $80

2. Ben Keist, 92, $60

3. Mitch Privette, 94, $40

4. Bill Orozco, 95 (won sudden death), $30

5. Eric Harbacheck, 95, $20

6. Mike Jindra, 96 (won sudden death), $12

7. Aaron Anderson, 96, $8

8. Jared Johnson, 97

9. Matt Sime, 98

9. John Lerum, 98

11. Joe Beauseigneur, 99

11. Corey Mclane, 99

13. Brian Gustafson, 100

13. Mark Skellenger, 100

13. Nick Perry, 100

16. Dave Sime, 102

16. Mike Orozco, 102

16. Lars Tonding, 102

19. Tim Ouverson, 103

19. Andy Richardson, 103

21. Mike Cosens, 106

21. Brian Wells, 106

23. Kory Krause, 107

24. Mike Jensen, 108

25. Tim Engstrom, 109

25. Jameson Toft, 109

27. Jesse Matton, 110

28. Robert Suniga, 111

28. Joe Knutson, 111

30. Jamison Burkart, 115

31. Robert Patterson, 116

32. Tim Stumo, 121

33. December Moore, 122

34. William Johnson, 125

35. Jes Williamson, 130

36. Art Schorn, did not finish due to injury


Other awards:

Most Food Donated trophy: Brian Gustafson, 54 food items

Ace pool throwoff: Andy Richardson, $28 (no aces during tourney, so the throwoff decides who gets pool)

Hole 1 closest-to-pin (Innova Vulcan driver): Dave Sime

Hole 5 CTP (Innova Aviar putter): Ross Brandt

Hole 7 CTP (Flying Lea mini driver): Mark Skellenger

Hole 18 CTP (Back9Designs T-shirt): Dave Sime


Random Doubles:

1. Bill Orozco and

Joe Beauseigneur, 41, $40

1. Ross Brandt and

Tim Engstrom, 41, $40

3. Matt Sime and Dave Sime, 43

4. John Lerum and

December Moore, 43

5. Jared Johnson and

Robert Patterson, 44

6. Brian Wells and Ben Keist, 45

7. Brian Gustafson and Lars Tonding, 46

8. Nick Perry and Mike Orozco, 48

Note: Matt Sime scored an ace on Hole 8 during the doubles play.