• 54°

Sports Memories for April 1

By Chuck Anderson

50 years ago — 1962

Named to the All-State Basketball Tournament Team were Al Redman and Ron Meyer of Wells, John McLagan and Dennis Pladson of South St. Paul, Bruce Ackland, Larry Fundingsland and Jerry Orbeck of St. Louis Park, Bob Bruggers of Danube, Arlo Knoll of Crosby-Ironton; Dave Sanda and Dave Meisner of Cloquet and Herb Hast of Ada.

Named to the WCCO Radio Prep Parade All-State Basketball Team from Albert Lea High School was Clair Flaten and of Lyle Phil Block.

The Albert Lea city volleyball league was won by the Albert Lea High School faculty team. Members included J. R. McElhinney, Charles Faitchild, George Seifert, Eugene Lysne, Bill Christopherson, Paul Wilke, George Acheff, Paul Ehrhard and Bruce Johnson.

25 years ago — 1987

Named to the All-Big Nine Conference hockey team from ALHS were Pat Diggins, Dave Nystrom, Dave Jacobsen, Steve Nelson, Craig Willmert, Steve Stoltz and Brad Tullberg.

Named to the All-Big Nine Conference girls’ basketball team was Julie Coughlin. Melissa Johnson received honorable mention.

Named to the All-Gopher Conference girls’ basketball team were Tina Wangsness, Kim Anderson and Wendy Lerberg of Ellendale-Geneva; Jill Johnson and Jill Thompson of New Richland-Hartland and Bridgett Matter of Glenville.

Named to the All-South Central Conference boys’ basketball team were Buzz Viesselman and B. J. Fisher of Wells-Easton.

10 years ago — 2002

Ben Woodside from Albert Lea was named the Tribune’s All-Area boys’ basketball Player of the Year, and Jeff Rayman of Glenville-Emmons was named the Coach of the Year. Named to the first team were Woodside and Tyler Young from Albert Lea, Paul Kleven from Glenville-Emmons and Jon Beyer and Cole Iverson from United South Central. Named to the second team were Josh Kasper from Albert Lea, Richard Mathis and Chase Rayman from Glenvill-Emmons, Derek Richards from Lake Mills and Lee Nelson from Northwood-Kensett.

Named to the All-Big Nine Conference girls’ hockey team from Albert Lea were Brittany Arendt, Laura Hillman, Francis O’Donnell and Jasey Porter. Receiving honorable mention were Tessa Christianson, Christina Tubbs and Danika Porter.