Filing for elective office starts today

Published 9:58 am Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Filing for various elected positions in Freeborn County and across the state begins today and goes through June 5.

In Albert Lea, seats up for election include those of mayor and of Albert Lea City Council members in wards 1, 3 and 5.

The positions are currently held by Vern Rasmussen, John Schulte V, Ellen Kehr and Larry Anderson, respectively.

Email newsletter signup

The councilors have not yet announced their intention for the election.

People wishing to file for a city race can do so with City Clerk Shirley Slater-Schulte at City Hall. Cost is $5.

In Freeborn County, there are also a handful of positions up for election. Those include 1st, 3rd and 5th District commissioners and 1st, 2nd and 5th Soil and Water District supervisor positions.

The current commissioners are Glen Mathiason, Jim Nelson and Mike Lee, respectively.

People wishing to file for a county race can do so at the Freeborn County Auditor-Treasurer’s Office in the Freeborn County Government Center. The cost is $20 for the Soil and Water Conservation District seats and $50 for the other county races.

Depending on the number of people who file for each seat, a primary election will be Aug. 14.

On the state and national level, seats up for election include that of state Senate District 27, currently held by state Sen. Dan Sparks, a DFLer; District 27A representative, currently held by Rich Murray, a Republican; 1st District U.S. House of Representatives, currently held by Rep. Tim Walz, a Democrat; and U.S. Senate, currently held by Amy Klobuchar, a Democrat.

People wishing to file for these races can do so with the Minnesota Secretary of State’s Office.

The filing cost is $100 for a state representative or senator, $300 for a U.S. representative and $400 for a U.S. senator.

Watch the Tribune for reports as candidates file for seats or announce campaigns.