Sports Memories: May 13

Published 6:41 pm Saturday, May 12, 2012

By Chuck Anderson

50 years ago – 1962

• The Knights of Columbus No. 7 team from Albert Lea won the Minnesota Knights of Columbus bowling tournament. Team members were Lyle Boyer, Laverne Reese, Ed Huesmann, Leon Steffen and Bill Johnson.

Email newsletter signup

• The Alden Blackhawks baseball team improved to 3-0 with a 10-5 win over Emmons. Lowell Doppelhammer was the winning pitcher. Bob Lindeman, Don Brummer and Mark Newman all hit triples for Alden.

• Jeff Brooke set an Albert Lea High School record in the shot put in the Tigers’ 64-53 victory over Rochester. Placing first for the Tigers were Jeff Brooke in the shot put and discus, Rog Kittelson in the pole vault, Jack Heather in the 880-yard run, Lowell Syverson in the broad jump, 100 and 200-yard dashes and Gary Jacobsoin the 120-yard high hurdles and the 180-yard low hurdles.


25 years ago – 1987

• Inducted into the Freeborn County Softball Hall of Fame at the 21st annual banquet were Arliss Bachtle and Ken Lukecart from Albert Lea, Harley Hanson from Clarks Grove, Alf Gardner from Freeborn and Gary Hansen from Hartland.

• The Arrowhead team of Emmons won the Albert Lea City Men’s “B” basketball title. Team members were Nate Rasmussen, Jeff Baumann, Bruce Olson, Brian Huntley, Bill Drager, Jim Walcholz and Brad Ballson.

• In a triangular girls’ track meet, Faribault placed first with 65 points, Mankato West 53 and Albert Lea 45 points. Sophomore Sara Hartman of Albert Lea won the 1600-meter and the 3200-meter in school record time.


10 years ago – 2002

• The ALHS boys’ golf team handed Rochester Century its first loss 309-318 and raised its Big Nine record to 4-1.Scores for the Tigers were Dan Breuer 75, Adam Elseth 77, Adam Boelter 78 and Ryan Thompson 79.

• The ALHS girls’ track team placed fourth in Section 1AA True Team Track and Field event. Emily Bartusek won the 200 and 400-meter dashes and the triple jump, Beth Kolling won the 100-meter dash and the 4×400 relay team of Bartusek, Amy Ravenhorst, Jasey Porter and Kolling placed first for Albert Lea.