Election results in states besides Wisconsin

Published 9:35 pm Tuesday, June 5, 2012

The gubernatorial recall vote in Wisconsin highlighted Tuesday’s elections. Five other states held presidential primaries, although Republican Mitt Romney and Democrat Barack Obama already have won enough delegates to claim their parties’ nominations. Those races and other highlights of voting:



Email newsletter signup

Senate: Twenty-four names are on the primary ballot. Under a new primary system, the top two choices will compete in the general election regardless of party affiliation. Democratic Sen. Dianne Feinstein is expected to be one of the two.

Ballot initiative: A proposal to raise cigarette taxes by $1 a pack to fund cancer research.



Senate: Rep. Denny Rehberg is expected to win the Republican primary to challenge Democratic Sen. Jon Tester. Rehberg faces token primary opposition. Tester is unopposed.

Governor: Republicans hoping to retake the governor’s mansion after eight years under Democrat Brian Schweitzer are choosing from a large field that includes former Rep. Rick Hill. Democrats are expected to nominate Attorney General Steve Bullock.



Senate: Republicans picked state Sen. Joe Kyrillos to challenge Democratic Sen. Bob Menendez in November. Menendez was unopposed in the party primary.

House: In the redrawn 9th Congressional District, Democratic Reps. Steve Rothman and Bill Pascrell are competing against each other in the heavily Democratic district. In the 10th Congressional District, six candidates are vying to replace the late Rep. Donald Payne, whose seat is expected to remain with Democrats this fall. Newark City Councilman Donald Payne Jr. hopes to succeed his father.



Senate: Former Rep. Heather Wilson is expected to win the Republican primary to fill the seat of retiring Democratic Sen. Jeff Bingaman. Rep. Martin Heinrich and state auditor Hector Balderas are seeking the Democratic nomination.

House: A close race is expected in the Democratic primary for Albuquerque’s 1st Congressional District, which is being vacated by Heinrich. In a three-way race are former Albuquerque Mayor Marty Chavez, state Sen. Eric Griego and Bernalillo County Commissioner Michelle Lujan Grisham. The winner will face former Republican state Rep. Janice Arnold-Jones.



House: In the Democratic primary for the state’s only House seat, Matt Varilek, former economic development director to Sen. Tim Johnson, defeated Jeff Barth, a retired telephone company technician and county commissioner. Varilek opposes Republican Rep. Kristi Noem in the fall.