Distinguished alumni announced

Published 9:34 am Wednesday, August 8, 2012

The Education Foundation of Albert Lea and Albert Lea Area Schools  announce their recipients of the 2012 Distinguished Alumni Award. The foundation will be celebrating 12 years of success with all who attend this year’s banquet.

Recipients of this year’s awards will be recognized at the Education Foundation’s Pathways to Success Celebration on Sept. 13 at Wedgewood Cove Golf Club. All are welcome to make a reservation to attend this event to share in the foundation’s commitment to the community’s children.

The event will begin with refreshments at 6 p.m. followed by dinner and program at 6:30 p.m. Reservations may be made by going to the foundation website at www.efal-us.org/PathwaystoSuccess.htm, filling out the response form and mailing it and a check for $35 per attendee to the Education Foundation of Albert Lea, P.O. Box 828, Albert Lea, MN, 56007.  Questions should be directed to Lilah Aas, president of the foundation board of directors at the foundation email address: edfound.al@gmail.com.

Email newsletter signup

Prior to the evening’s banquet, the Education Foundation will sponsor an open forum moderated by Donald Draayer, former Pathways distinguished alumnus and national superintendent of the year. It will be held from 3:30 to 5 p.m. Sept. 13 at the Marion Ross Performing Arts Center. This year’s honorees and previous distinguished alumni will be discussing education. This event is free and open to the public.

The following morning, the three living 2012 distinguished alumni will lead an open discussion with members of the senior class in an assembly at Albert Lea High School.

These distinguished alumni awards are given annually to graduates of Albert Lea High School who have achieved success in one or more of the areas of Business and Economic Achievement, Humanitarian and Public Service Achievement, or Locally Achieved Success. In addition, awards will be given posthumously to candidates in any of the above categories.


This year’s distinguished alumni are as follows:

Business and Economic Achievement: Dale Hanson, Class of 1956.

Humanitarian and Public Service: Dr. Lyman T. (Manny) Steil, Class of 1956.

Locally Achieved Success: Earl Jacobsen, Class of 1942.

Posthumous Award: Barry Blackhawk, Class of 1957.


Look for more information about the banquet and biographies of this year’s distinguished alumni in upcoming issues of the Albert Lea Tribune.