Rasmussen re-elected to A.L. mayor

Published 2:50 am Wednesday, November 7, 2012

Albert Lea residents re-elected Vern Rasmussen as mayor Tuesday in what was a landslide victory against opponent Keith Porter Sr.

According to results Tuesday evening, Rasmussen received 5,962 — or 70 percent — of the vote, while Porter received 2,547 — or 30 percent.

“I’m just excited the community has shown this kind of support for me,” Rasmussen said.

Email newsletter signup

He previously served two years as mayor and six years as a councilor.

Rasmussen, a physical therapist at Mayo Clinic Health System at Health Reach, said he wants to continue to make Albert Lea competitive and to provide “exceptional service” at the least possible cost.

His term will be two years, and then in 2014 voters will be called back to the polls to elect their first four-year mayor.

Porter, who served on the Albert Lea Township Board from 2008 to 2011 and as Freeborn County District 3 commissioner from 1992 to 2000, said he was not disappointed in the outcome of the race.

“From Day 1, I never thought I would win,” he said. “The opposition was what I wanted.”

He said he has enjoyed meeting people along the way and has no specific plans for the near future.

This was Porter’s 10th time running for public office.


City Council

Incumbent Albert Lea City Councilors John Schulte V and Larry Anderson were re-elected to their seats Tuesday after running unopposed.

First Ward Councilor John Schulte V, an engineer, received 99 percent of the vote, or 1,706 votes, according to Freeborn County results.

Schulte has been on the council for about a year and a half after he was elected to fill a vacancy in May 2011. The seat was vacated by former 1st Ward Councilor Vern Rasmussen who was appointed mayor.

Voters also re-elected 5th Ward Councilor Larry Anderson with 786 votes, or 98 1/2 percent of the votes.

“I’m glad to be re-elected and representing the people,” said Anderson, who works for the Minnesota Department of Transportation. “I’m proud to do it.”

The only change on the council was in the 3rd Ward.

Former 3rd Ward Councilor George Marin defeated incumbent Councilor Ellen Kehr.

See another story in this edition about that race.