Sports Memories

Published 7:10 pm Saturday, November 24, 2012

By Chuck Anderson

50 years ago – 1962

• The Glenville High School basketball coach Ed Stalker opened practice with only two returning letter winners: seniors Doug Cipra and Mike Ferguson.

Email newsletter signup

• Wells High School opened its basketball season with a 63-36 victory over the Owatonna Indians. Leading the Wildcats balanced scoring were Al Redman with 19 points, Rich Wanzek 12, Tom Schultz 11 and Chuck Schultz 10.

• Coach Peter Isaacs of the Ellendale High School basketball team had seven returning letter winners. Seniors Chuck Crabtree and Dan Wagner were starters in the 1961-62 season. The other letter winners were Bert Disher, Lyle Swearingen, Bruce Thompson, Jim Flim and Dan Jensen.

25 years ago – 1987

• Named to the All-Big Nine Conference girls’ cross country first team from Albert Lea High School were Sara Hartman, Steph Hartman and Robin Heys. Amy Stay was named to the second team.

• Named the the All-Big Nine Conference Boys Cross Country first team from ALHS was Mark Pettey. Named to the second team were Tague Ferguson, Tom Rietveld and John Schneider.

• Named to the All-Border League Volleyball Team from South Central High School were Kay Molskness, Tia Albers, Laura Berkeland and Carla Kapplinger. Named from Glenville-Emmons were Briget Matter, Jennifer Allison and Lisa Sveen and from Alden-Conger-Freeborn were Jolene Ignaszewski and Darcy Evenson.

• The Northwood-Kensett High School girls basketball team defeated Rockford 49-37. The Vikings were led by Amy Read with 16 points and Tamy Spilde with 14 rebounds.

10 years ago – 2002

• The ALHS girls’ hockey team won its third straight game with a 4-0 win over Austin. Goalie Danika Porter recorded her second shutout of the season. Tessa Christensen scored two goals and Karissa Lau and Laura Hillman one each.

• The ALHS bowling team won the section tournament and qualified for the state tournament. Team members were Matt Kaiser, Matt Rasmussen, Brandon Boekelman, Joe Squires, Shane Walk, Brandon Vanryswyk, Grant Boyer and Brian Baas.