Albert Lea knocks out defending champion

Published 10:35 am Thursday, December 6, 2012


The Albert Lea junior high wrestling team participated in the nine-team Owatonna Stockewell Invitational on Saturday. There was more than 200 wrestlers at the event. The Tigers accumulated 184 team points to win over the defending champion, Prior Lake. Nine Albert Lea wrestlers won individual championships. They were Nic Cantu, Zach Glazier, Trevor Johnson, Joseph Peterson, Brody Nielsen, Gavin Ignaszewski, Nelson, Blake Simon and Tanner Palmer. Pictured from: Cantu, Zech Livingston, Jessie Hernandez, Tyler Beckius, Johnson, Peterson, Drake Bullis, Jacob Johnsrud, Garrett Grandstrand, Marcus McCullough, Brody Nielsen, Dylan Lestrud, Noah Nelson, Levi Kermes, Ty Harms, Ignaszewski, Glazier, Simon, Brent Hanson, Matthew Palmer, Alex Bledsoe, Kaleb Malakowsky, Palmer, Trent Johnston, Hunter Lowman, Brady Nielsen, Riet Lony and Ethan Peek.