Tribune announces All-Area football team

Published 7:45 am Sunday, December 23, 2012

Albert Lea’s Derek Burkard has been named the Tribune’s football Player of the Year.

Burkard was the quarterback for the Tigers. He was 111-241 in passing, recorded 1,476 rushing yards and 11 touchdowns.

According to Albert Lea’s head coach Max Jeffrey, Burkard holds a school record of the most passing yards by a quarterback. Burkard was named Honorable Mention in the Big Nine Conference.

Email newsletter signup

The other 10 players on the Tribune’s All-Area first team are Ethan Abben, Cody Scherff, Dylan See-Rockers, Makael Lunning, Colten Carlson, Dillon Parpart, Trey Allis, Andy Dahle, Hunter Kingland and Derek Olson.


Ethan Abben, senior, Albert Lea

Ethan Abben, a halfback for the Tigers, was a Big Nine Conference selection and according to Jeffrey, one of the top runners in the conference. His team voted him Most Valuable Player. Abben was 154-889 in rushing and average 5.7 yards per carry. He scored 82 points on the season.


Cody Scherff, junior, Albert Lea

Cody Scherff was a wide receiver for Albert Lea. Scherff was a Big Nine Conference selection who made 47 receptions for 794 yards and five touchdowns. He had a season total of 40 points.

Dylan See-Rockers, senior, Albert Lea

Dylan See-Rockers was a wide receiver for the Tigers. See-Rockers was another All-Conference selection for the Tigers. He made 33 receptions for 533 yards and six touchdowns. See-Rockers had a season total of 46 points.

Makael Lunning, senior, Albert Lea

Makael Lunning was a wide receiver for Albert Lea who was a Big Nine Conference selection. Lunning was the second-leading tackler for the Tigers with a season total of 53. On offense, Lunning made 23 receptions for 319 yards.


Colten Carlson, junior, United South Central

Colten Carlson was an offensive guard for the Rebels. Carlson was named Gopher Conference Honorable Mention and was voted Most Valuable Defensive Player by his team. Carlson recorded 97 tackles and one interception for the season.


Dillon Parpart, junior, NRHEG

Dillion Parpart was a tight end for the Panthers. Parpart was 51-175 in rushing yards with two touchdowns, averaged 24.7 yards per game in receiving and led the team with 46 solo tackles, 48 assisted tackles and five sacks for a season total of 99 tackles.


Trey Allis, senior, United South Central

Trey Allis was a quarterback for United South Central. He was a Gopher Conference selection who had 99 carries for 418 yards and was 33-88-406 in passing. Defensively Allis recorded 79 tackles. He was named by his team Most Valuable Offensive Player.


Andy Dahle, senior, Lake Mills

Andy Dahle was a linebacker for the Bulldogs. He was named First Team All-District and Second Team All-State linebacker by the Des Moines Register. Dahle led the district with 135 tackles and was fifth in state for Class A.


Hunter Kingland, junior, Lake Mills

Hunter Kingland was the Bulldogs’ quarterback. He was named First Team All-District in Class A District II. Kingland led the district in passing with 1,298 yards. He also recorded 10 touchdowns.


Derek Olson, senior, Glenville-Emmons

Derek Olson was the Wolverines’ runningback. He led the team with 708 rushing yards and 1,184 all-purpose yards. Olson was 160-708 in rushing with three touchdowns. He was 10-170 in receiving and recorded 44 tackles.